This is the "Archives @ the Buxton Library" page of the "About . . . The Buxton Library @ PVCC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About . . . The Buxton Library @ PVCC  

The Buxton Library @ PVCC serves the college and community by supporting learning through relevant resources and engaging learners through excellence in diverse programs and instruction.
Last Updated: Aug 27, 2014 URL: http://paradisevalley.libguides.com/About Print Guide Email Alerts

Archives @ the Buxton Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the PVCC Archives

The PVCC Archives is a collection of the historical materials by and about the college. It includes Governing Board minutes, videos, a photo collection, newspaper clippings, campus publications, planning and accreditation reports, international curriculum development projects, distance learning and international curriculums, sabbatical reports and much more.

 

Sculptures - Take One

Stardust:

Stardust was designed by Ana Thiel and acquired by the college in October 2000. According to Thiel, Stardust represents a source of light from which other lights emanate. The source is a circle, the symbol of infinity, and the lights surging from it are reflective spheres. Thiel said the sculpture has seven spheres since seven is considered a powerful number in many belief systems.

Stardust is located in the fountain at the center of the M Building courtyard.

Mirror Image: 

Mirror Image was designed by Alan Hochman and installed in August 2003. This water feature sculpture is made of Desert Gold Travertine. Water bubbles out the top and flows down the stone into a shallow pool. Hochman states on his website (www.stoneandwater.com) that his vision is "bringing life to the inert stones and giving voice and movement to the water."

Mirror Image is located in the courtyard between G and K Buildings.

 

Gateway to a Life-Long Journey of Learning

This sculpture was designed by Jane Kelsey-Mapel and installed in April-May 2006. Faculty member David Bradley was instrumental in the acquisition of the sculpture and worked closely with the artist. According to Bradley, the 12-foot tall horse represents the educational journey, and the 7-foot gateway under its belly represents the threshold learners cross on that journey. Kelsey-Mapel, along with Bradley and PVCC art students, spent several weeks installing and completing the sculpture.

Gateway to a Life-long Journey of Learning is located on the south plaza of the Center for Performing Arts.

 kandice.mickelsen@paradisevalley.edu

602-787-6692

     

    Archive Documents

     

    • An abridged history of Paradise Valley Community College is included in this document:
    • This slide show includes snippets of the PVCC history and puts faces with activities.
    • The archive schedule includes the system for organizing the archives of the college.
    • A Special publication for the people of Paradise Valley and South Mountain Community Colleges.

    See Below:

    Puma Press

    From the latest campus news to sports, health and "man on the street", the Puma Press covers it all--check out the link below:

     

    Sculptures - Take Two

    Unnamed Sculpture:

    The sculpture at the center of the campus represents the educational process, moving from basic knowledge to complex ideas. The sculpture base includes three simple shapes: circle, triangle, and square. Ascending the sculpture, these basic shapes are transformed into more complex forms: the ellipse, parallelogram, and isosceles triangle. Similarly, through education, an individual is continually transformed: growing, changing and understanding more complex ideas and thoughts.

    The sculpture is unnamed and was designed by Bob Watkins of the DLR Group (formerly Lescher & Mahoney). Lescher & Mahoney were the initial master planners for the first phase of the campus.

    Lescher & Mahoney knew they wanted to put some kind of sculpture in the center of the campus, but didn't know exactly what. While designing the campus model, Bob went to a shop to pick up materials for the model. He found some metal tubes there in the three basic shapes (circle, triangle and square) and bought them. As he played with them, Bob realized that cut on a slant they changed shape into more complex forms—reminiscent of the educational process.


    Terra Cotta Warriors:

    The Terra Cotta Warriors were donated by Lorain and Frank Kadish, and installed in February 2000. These are precisely crafted reproductions of the Terra Cotta Warriors discovered in 1974 near Xian, China, and are depictions of the armies from the Qin Dynasty. The Kadishes worked with faculty member Dr. Gene Rister to arrange for the donation of the statues.

    The Terra Cotta Warriors are located in the hall at the east end of E Building.

    M Courtyard Fountain

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip