The Buxton Library @ PVCC is open to all students, faculty, staff and community members, and offers a relaxed learning environment with helpful, skilled librarians and library assistants. As an academic library, our main function is to support the students, faculty and curriculum offered at the college. Our hours are based on the college semesters and courses offered—these hours vary in summer and between semesters. See our homepage for current hours of operation. All patrons of the library are expected to abide by the Library and PVCC campus policies in order to retain privileges and avoid ejection and/or arrest.
Libraries are major sources of information for society and they serve as guardians of access to information. The advent of the digital world has revolutionized how information is obtained and how libraries provide it--The Buxton Library @ PVCC advocates for you so know your rights regarding Intellectual Freedom--see link below.
Have a suggestion to make the Buxton Library @ PVCC better? Please complete our short form (link) - Thank you!
All users of the PVCC Library, including students, staff, faculty, and community borrowers, must abide by these policies. Failure to do so can result in ejection from the Library, suspension of library and/or campus privileges, or arrest. Please refer to specific consequences at the bottom of the policies for additional information.
Courteous Behavior: Civil and courteous behavior is the expectation at the Buxton Library. Behavior that is disruptive, may include, but is not limited to:
See Incident Chart for consequences of continuous disruptive behavior.
NOTE: Parents/Legal Guardians/Responsible Adults who bring their children to the library are responsible for them and must be present with them at all times. College Safety will be notified if any minors are left unattended--see the MCCCD Governance Policy regarding children on campus.
Food & Drink: Food and drink are allowed in the Library--courteous behavior is expected. Trash receptacles are located throughout the Library and ready for your use.
Privacy: To the extent possible in an electronic environment and public setting, users’ privacy will be honored. Nevertheless, that privacy is subject to Arizona's public records laws and other applicable state and federal laws, as well as policies of Maricopa's Governing Board all of which may supersede a user's interests in maintaining privacy in information contained in Maricopa's computing resources.
Study Rooms/Facility Use: Small study rooms and group study rooms are available for students on a first come first serve basis. These rooms are intended for study purposes ONLY and not as a place to nap or store belongings. The group study rooms are for two or more students only and are equipped with white boards, DVD player and presentation stations. Use is limited to current PVCC faculty, staff and students only! This includes the SE corner and the study rooms.
NOTE: The library is not responsible for lost or stolen items. College Safety will pick up any items left unattended for more than 30 minutes.
U.S. Patriot Act: Under Section 215 of the Federal USA Patriot Act (Public Law 107-56), records of books and other materials you borrow from this library may be obtained by federal agents--see link below. This law also prohibits librarians from informing you if records about you have been obtained by federal agents. Questions about this policy should be directed to the Attorney General at the Department of Justice, Washington, DC 20530.
Level of Incident
Consequence (Community Borrower or Student)
1st - Minor Policy Infringement
Warning & Generate Library Incident Form
2nd - Incident
Warning & Library Incident Form
3rd - Incident
· Maricopa Students Rights & Responsibilities-See Link
· Contact Public Safety & Dean of Student Services
· Ban from Library – 1 Semester
Out of Control Behavior (any time)
· Contact Public Safety & forward information to Dean of Student Services
· Ban from campus - Permanent
Uncooperative violators of these policies will be asked to leave the library. If deemed necessary, Public Safety Officers will be called for assistance. Library staff are authorized to interpret and apply these rules outlining acceptable behavior as the situation warrants
A valid Paradise Valley Community College ID card acts as a library card and is required to check out any item, check out materials on RESERVE, for wireless internet access, for printing, and for remote access to subscribed databases.
To Get An ID Card:
Reserve Materials: Many instructors put items on RESERVE in the Library. Reserve items are located at the Circulation Desk. These items are intended for the entire class to use and may include books, videos, or other formats--students needs their PVCC ID to request/check out Reserve Materials. Reserve items usually have a short check-out period and media may be viewed on library computers, library laptops or personal media playing devices.
Returning Materials: All materials can be returned directly to the library. Books may be dropped into the Book Drop located outside in front of A building. Please do not put media (CDs, DVDs, etc.) in this outside Book Drop but rather return directly to the Library or the Book Drop located in the E-Building hallway outside the east doors of the library.
Overdue Notices: An e-mail account will be generated when you get your ID card. This e-mail will be used to notify you of overdue items. Failure to receive an overdue notice, for whatever reason, does not remove or negate your responsibility for meeting the due date or paying subsequent fines. Until fees are paid, a hold will be placed on the patrons record and Library privileges will be suspended.
Archives @ PVCC: PVCC’s historical materials are electronically archived and can be searched in the online catalog. You can view the entire collection by entering Paradise Valley Community College as a title search. PVCC Staff Study Reports, Capstone Videos and Puma Press articles all examples of archive materials that can be searched by title, author, keywords and subject in the online catalog.
Have trouble finding the materials you need...try other campus libraries by requesting an Interdistrict Loan or from libraries around the world through our Interlibrary Loan services.
The PVC Library adheres to the MCCCD Computing Resources Standards which have been established for campus computer users—see link below. These standards apply to both the Library's open lab and laptop use via the PVCC WiFi--see WiFi link below. Academic use will take priority when computers are at a premium--use only 1 computer. Tampering with computer hardware or software is strictly prohibited.
Laptops are available for PVCC student use only in the Library and can be checked out for 2-hours to a PVCC student with a valid PVCC ID with no fines on their record. The student must read and agree to Laptop Check-Out Terms and sign the log sheet. Printing is not possible directly from the laptops. Please email or bring your own flash drive if you need to save research. Saving, burning, or downloading files, including music or other media files, is subject to copyright laws. Students will be held responsible for any damage to the laptop, and in the case of damage, a maximum fee of $1,000.00 will be posted to the student's record.
Laptop Use Guidelines & Rules:
Copying: You can use your PVCC ID card to copy—see the helpful links below if you need to load money onto your card.The copiers are capable of copyign 8.5 x 11, 11 x 17 and double sided. No color copying available at this time.
The following charges apply for copying:
$0.10 per page for 8.5 x 11, & 8.5 x 14
$0.20 per page for 11 x 17 and double sided.
Printing: You can use your PVCC ID card to print—see the helpful links below if you need to load money onto your card.
The following charges apply for printing:
$0.10/side for Black & White
$1.00/side for color
Printers are capable of double-sided printing but charges apply per side.
Copyright Law: The United States (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of copies of copyrighted material. Any person copying such material is liable for any infringement.
What is an Interdistrict Loan? IDL is an interdistrict loan that allows all MCCCD campus libraries to share resources amongst each other for all students, staff, and faculty. If you see an item held at another campus library, we encourage you to place a hold on this item as an interdistrict loan to be routed to our campus.
How do I place a hold on an item from another campus? An active student with MEID is required to place a hold. Once an item is available to checkout, we will hold the item on the shelf for 10 days.
Two ways to place holds:
If the item is circulating, you can request up to 7 items at one time. Delivery usually takes 3-7 business days. Once we receive the item/s, we will hold the item on the shelf for 10 days.
Can Community Borrower's use the ILL service? Unfortunately, we cannot provide IDL services to the public. However, we can refer you to a public library in your area that provides this service.
What is Interlibrary Loan? ILL is a service that allows institutions from around the world to share their resources through an online database called Illiad. If a book or an article cannot be found within all Maricopa Community College libraries, we suggest utilizing interlibrary loan services. When the request is made, our ILL staff will search the database to find a library that will lend the material. This includes book and articles (photocopy/electronic).
How do I setup an ILL account? To create an account, simply go to the Illiad link and locate the Interlibrary Loan Form to create a username and password. Please make sure to include a valid phone number and email address for notification of request fulfillment. You can track the progress of your request, checked out items and cancel requests.
How do I put in a request? In order to receive the item you need, fill out each field with as much information as possible:
Is there a fee for using Interlibrary loan services? While books requests are free, there may be a small charge for articles. You will be notified to accept or decline the charge. Upon successful fulfillment, you will be notified via email that item is available for checkout or as electronic delivery (PDF download) that can be accessed through your ILL account. You will have 7 days to pick up the material.
What if I do not return an item? If the item becomes overdue, we will attempt to collect the item through overdue email notification. If the item is not returned, you will be charged the cost of the item plus a $5.00 processing fee. Your account will be blocked from all library services and a hold will be placed on your my.maricopa student account disabling your ability to register for classes or retrieve your official transcripts until it is paid.
Can Community Borrower's use the ILL service? Unfortunately, we cannot provide ILL services to the public. However, we can refer you to a public library in your area that provides this service.