Textbook - Introduction to Psychology - Maricopa Edition - Julie Lazzara
Introduction to Psychology - Maricopa Edition by Call Number: OER TextbookISBN: 9781951693237Publication Date: 2020-04-22This text is a remixed version of Openstax Psychology 2e. The text has been remixed to align with the course outline and course competencies established by MCCCD. This book is a cloned version of Psychology 2e by Julie Lazzara, published using Pressbooks by Openstax under a CC BY (Attribution) license. It may differ from the original.
What is a Psychological Disorder?
"Psychological Disorder" as defined in The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by
This major revision of The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology follows the successful format of the health/medicine Gale Encyclopedia of ... line of titles. GEP-3 provides a robust 800-entry survey of the field of psychology including notable people, theories, and terms, as well as landmark case studies and experiments. Presenting authoritative information in an accessible manner, it serves students and public library patrons with new features to add interest and maximize understanding
ISBN: 9781410317810Publication Date: 2016-05-11
Psychology eBooks - Use for Background Information
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by Call Number: eBooKISBN: 9780890425558Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412909488Publication Date: 2006-08-18The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781410388179Publication Date: 2018-11-01
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781414412047Publication Date: 2016-05-11
DSM Library
- The DSM Library BooksAPA Publishing is a division of the American Psychiatric Association. Its purpose is twofold: to serve as the distributor of publications of the Association and to publish books and journals independent of the policies and procedures of the American Psychiatric Association.
How to Read a Scholarly Journal Article
Spot the Scholarly Article
Which of these articles is the scholarly article? How do you know?
Find Scholarly Articles in Psychology
- APA PsycArticles (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIt contains more than 200,000 psychiatry & psychology full-text scholarly articles from more than100 APA and allied organizations published peer-reviewed journals.
- Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowContains multidisciplinary and comprehensive articles, providing coverage of relevant Hispanic issues from the fields of Sociology, Anthropology, Psychology, Education, Linguistics, Public Health, Economics, and Political Science.
- Journal of Latinx Psychology This link opens in a new windowFormerly the Journal of Latina/o Psychology, is a peer-reviewed academic journal published by the American Psychological Association on behalf of The National Latinx Psychological Association.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly journal articles (i.e.: the findings of original research) on topics in psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology an observational and experimental methods. Comprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Scientific American Mind (Springer Nature) This link opens in a new windowScientific American Mind is a bimonthly American popular science magazine concentrating on psychology, neuroscience, and related fields.
- Scientific Reports (Springer Nature) This link opens in a new windowScientific Reports is an open access journal publishing original research from across all areas of the natural sciences, psychology, medicine and engineering.
TIPS
Tip: To search scholarly databases effectively, choose your keywords carefully, and use quotes to create specific phrases. (e.g.) "obsessive compulsive disorder."
Tip: Remember to check off full text. If you feel ready, also check of peer reviewed to retrieve only scholarly journal articles with original research.
Get Background Information
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5 (PDF) (American Psychiatric Association) This link opens in a new windowThe Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the 2013 update to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the taxonomic and diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association. In 2022, a revised version was published.
- DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (PDF) - (American Psychiatric Association) This link opens in a new windowThe Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the 2013 update to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the taxonomic and diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association. In 2022, a revised version was published.
- DSM-5TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (American Psychiatric Association This link opens in a new windowThe Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the 2013 update to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the taxonomic and diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association. In 2022, a revised version was published.
- Gale EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAcademic reference sources on a variety of topics. A great place to get background information.Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information, videos and images to aid in patient care.
- Psychiatry Online - DSM-5-TR Library (American Psychiatric Association) This link opens in a new windowThe Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the 2013 update to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the taxonomic and diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association. In 2022, a revised version was published.
- The Corsini Encyclopedia of PsychologyFeatures up-to-date and authoritative coverage of every major area of psychology.
Use OneSearch to search for everything!
MeSH - Medical Subject Headings
- PubMedBy U.S. National Library of Medicine - use Medical Subject Headings to retrieve more relevant search results
Google Scholar
WebSearching - Use Credible Domains
To find credible information on the open Internet, limit your results to .edu (universities and colleges), .gov (federal, state, and local government) and .org (nonprofit organizations). On Google Advanced Search enter .edu, .org, or .gov in the "Search within a site or domain" box.
Or use the "site:" feature directly in the Google search box, for example:
-
depression site:.edu -- retrieves only .edu websites
-
depression site:.gov -- retrieves only .gov websites
-
depression site:.org -- retrieves only .org websites
Notice how we're excluding .com websites when conducting scholarly research -- you get the picture! And remember, always evaluate so you won't get DUPED! See Don't Get DUPED (on the right) for criteria to consider.
Don't get D U P E D!
