History-related Encyclopedias and Databases
- CREDOContains a variety of reference sources including the The Encyclopedia of World History, as well as a wide range of subject-specific works.
- GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Library) is now GALE EBOOKSLarge collection of articles from hundreds of reference books published by Gale.
- GALE EBOOKS - History CollectionHistory encyclopedias from the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Ancient EuropeEncyclopedia of the Barbarian World, covering Europe from 8000 BC to AD 1000.
- Encyclopedia of World Biography.Online collection of short biographies of thousands of historical figures.
Using the PVCC Library Catalog
The PVCC Library holds a large collection of both printed and electronic books. You can search the collection here:
Use the drop-down menu to change a more general keyword search into a more specific author, title, or subject search.
For example, to find books in a specific area, try using subject terms such as
- Egypt Civilization 332 B.C.-638 A.D
- Western civilization
- World history
- African-American history
- United States history
- United States immigration history
Note that once you are in the PVC Library catalog, you can use a drop-down menu to expand your search to include the holdings of all 10 libraries in the Maricopa Community College District. You can use the Place Hold link that appears to the right of the information about the book to have it sent from another MCCD library to PVCC. The library will send you an email when it arrives, and you can then check it out from, and return it to, the circulation desk at the PVCC Library.
eBooks
Ancient History: Key Themes and Approaches by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780415165082Publication Date: 2000-01-20Ancient History: Key Themes and Approaches is a sourcebook of writings on ancient history. It presents over 500 of the most important stimulating and provocative arguments by modern writers on the subject, and as such constitutes an invaluable reference resource. The first section deals with different aspects of life in the ancient world, such as democracy, imperialism, slavery and sexuality, while the second section covers the ideas of key ancient historians and other writers on classical antiquity. Overall this book offers an invaluable introduction to the most important ideas, theories and controversies in ancient history, and a thought-provoking survey of the range of views and approaches to the subject.
Rethinking the Mediterranean by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780199265459Publication Date: 2005-04-07In this collection of essays, an international group of renowned scholars attempt to establish the theoretical basis for studying the ancient and medieval history of the Mediterranean Sea and the lands around it. In so doing they range far afield to other Mediterraneans, real and imaginary, asdistant as Brazil and Japan. Their work is an essential tool for understanding the Mediterranean, pre-modern and modern alike. It speaks to ancient and medieval historians, to archaeologists, anthropologists and all historians with environmental interests, and not least to classicists.
Electronic books are full-text books that can be accessed online from anywhere. Because many eBooks are protected by copyright law and require payment for use, the PVCC Library licenses access on behalf of students so that they may read them free of charge.
- Academic eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMore than 135,000 eBooks representing a broad range of academic subject matter.