ASB211 - Women in Other Cultures - Anthropology - LibGuides at Paradise Valley Community College

Books - Print & e-Books

The PVCC Library holds a great collection of printed books. Search the collection right here or go to the main PVCC Library Catalog.

Academic eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
More than 135,000 eBooks representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Gale EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic reference sources on a variety of topics. A great place to get background information.Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly ebooks in multiple subjects from world-renowned publishers

Databases for Articles

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, interdisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subjects. It includes a mix of scholarly articles, popular publications, and newspaper coverage. It’s an excellent starting point for the kind of research you will need to do in college courses.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
International approach to news and current issues from multiple international sources. Includes news, viewpoints, background and country information, videos, statistics, biographies, podcasts, and links to relevant websites.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This database brings together academic articles, audio, videos, opinion essays and primary sources about contemporary controversies and hot topics. Whether you need a balanced view or support for your position, Opposing Viewpoints is the first place to go when you're researching a controversial or contentious issue. It's also a great place to find or narrow a topic.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.
JSTOR {ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering arts, education, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Library resource providing access to Provides access to more than 2300 major U.S. and international newspapers and radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text covers sociology and related disciplines, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work.
U.S. Major Dailies (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and global events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1980.

Required Viewing

God's Sandbox (Tahara)
A feature film in which a successful author, Liz, searches for her daughter, Rachel, in the Sinai Desert. There she meets a Bedouin storyteller who relays the unusual love story of a Western tourist and the son of a Bedouin Sheik named Najim. Their relationship is torn apart when the American is exposed to a tribal ritual.

Miss Navajo (DVD available on Reserve at the library)
The role of women and tradition in Dine (Navajo) culture is explored through a young girl's quest for the Miss Navajo Nation crown.

Somaly Mam clip (From "Faces of Freedom")
Overview of the Somaly Mam Foundation, a non-profit organization whose purpose is to assist women and girls who have been forced into sexual slavery.

Ladies First: Rwandan Women Help Heal Their Nation (Use your MEID and password to login from home)
After the Rwandan genocide in the 1990s, the women of Rwanda have led the healing process and have helped usher in a much-needed era of stability. This documentary depicts the multifaceted efforts of women activists to build a sustainable peace between the majority Hutus and minority Tutsis.

Girl Rising (DVD available on Reserve at the library)
Nine girls are spotlighted in this film about the strength of the human spirit and the power of education to change the world.

Videos on Anthropology

Anthropology (Alexander Street)
Alexander Street builds and curates comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. Content is presented on a multimedia platform that reflects the integrated methods of field research, through linking and cross-searchability of text, audiovisual, and archival primary sources.
Anthropology (Films on Demand)
Aside from fieldwork, a strong collection of anthropology videos is the best way to give students the opportunity to observe people and cultures from around the world. The titles in this collection reveal the vast diversity of humankind—with equal emphasis on traditional cultures and the effect that modernity has on them today.
Anthropology (Kanopy)
Approximately 992 videos on Anthropology from Kanopy
Anthropology (PBS FrontLine)
FRONTLINE is investigative journalism that questions, explains and changes our world.
Anthropology (PBS Video)
Provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.
Anthropology and Archaeology (DocuSeek2)
Showing 215 titles on subjects - Anthropology and Archaeology.

Anthropology

Books - Print & e-Books

The PVCC Library holds a great collection of printed books. Search the collection right here or go to the main PVCC Library Catalog.

Databases for Articles

Required Viewing

Videos on Anthropology

Websites

Selected and authoritative Internet sites:

United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM)

Coalition for Justice in the Maquiladoras

Revolutionary Association of Women of Afghanistan (RAWA)

Self Employed Women's Association (SEWA)

Women's Health, World Health Organization (WHO)

Women in Black

International Labour Organization

Use the power of Google Advanced to filter your Internet results.

After keying in your search term use the site: feature - example -- site:.edu, site:.gov, site:.org -

Find an article you cannot access? Use Journal Title Lookup to check PVCC's holdings.