Biology Classes @ PVCC
- Biology Classes @ PVCCLocate biology classes here at PVCC!
BIO100 - Terminology
ASK 24/7 LibChat - Welcome to LibChat!
Faculty - Information Science Division
This guide provides biology information reference resources for PVCC BIO100 students.
Textbook (Being Reviewed)
Concepts of Biology by Call Number: Open Source eBook (click on title)ISBN: 9781938168116Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Some Topics to Consider for a Research Paper
Finding a Topic in Biology
Here are a few links that can help you decide on a topic
-
A peer-reviewed, heavily cited, monthly journal with content written and edited for accessibility to researchers, educators, and students alike.
-
General journal which publishes original research across all areas of biology plus editorials. Extensive collection of full-text primers, quick guides, and question and answer interviews with scientists.
-
A weekly magazine offering information about science news and career resources.
-
Home of the Minnesota Department of Natural resources, this link gives access to fact sheets, maps and articles on native wildlife and impacts of human beings.
-
Current news in the world of science
-
Scientist - The News Journal for the Life Scientist
Provides an open forum for examination and discussion of issues in research, technology, employment, funding, policy and other subjects important to the life science field.
-
An online magazine and Web portal devoted to science, technology, and medicine. Articles are selected from news releases submitted by leading universities and other research organizations around the world.
Journals & Magazines on Biology
Use this link to locate journal and/or magazine titles on your biology topic!
Use OneSearch to locate books, ebooks, & articles for your research.
To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.
Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library | ONESearch Tutorial
Research Databases
- Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Explore journals, books and articles. NOTE: The Library does not subscribe to all ScienceDirect journals or books. Choose articles with a Download PDF icon.
- Research databases in Sciences and TechnologyPick a database using your topic to see what articles it has!
Books, Related
The Biology of Wonder : Aliveness, Feeling and the Metamorphosis of Science by Call Number: ebook - click on titleISBN: 9781550925944Publication Date: 2016-01-04
Inspiring Young Minds: Scientific Inquiry in the Early Years by Call Number: ebook - click on titleISBN: 9781605545196Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Learning and Teaching Scientific Inquiry by Call Number: ebook - click on titleISBN: 9781936959952Publication Date: 2011-01-01
