eBooks
Storytelling Around the World by ISBN: 9781440872945Publication Date: 2022-03-29This book provides students, instructors, and lay-readers with a cross-cultural understanding of storytelling as an art form that has existed for centuries, from the first spoken and sung stories to those that are drawn and performed today.
Ebooks in our Collection
- Academic eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThere are hundreds of books of folk tales, legends and myths in our expansive ebook collections. Below are just a few examples. To search for more titles, use our Ebsco ebook Academic Collection and try searching using the following keywords: mythology or folk tale or legends
Handbook of Japanese Mythology by ISBN: 9781576074688Publication Date: 2003-10-13This work views Japanese myths in their social, historical, and cultural context - how they emerged and how they reflect and influence Japanese life.
Celtic Myths and Legends by ISBN: 9780486119373Publication Date: 2012-07-24This splendidly illustrated study by the distinguished Celticist T. W. Rolleston masterfully retells the great Celtic myths and illuminates the world that spawned them.
Handbook of Norse Mythology by ISBN: 9781576075739Publication Date: 2002-04-08John Lindow, an internationally known authority on Norse mythology, covers the tales, their literary and oral sources, and their emergence into popular tradition, religion, and art.
Norse Mythology : Tales of the Gods, Sagas and Heroes by ISBN: 9781788883535This fascinating collection contains stories retold from the Icelandic Eddas, the principal sources of knowledge of Norse mythology, and the Sagas of the ancient world of the Vikings.
Folksongs from the Mountains of Iran by ISBN: 9781788310178Publication Date: 2017-12-30This book is based on folksongs collected over a 50-year period among the Boir Ahmad tribal people in the Zagros Mountains of West Iran.
Salish Myths and Legends by ISBN: 9780803210899Publication Date: 2008-07-01The rich storytelling traditions of Salish-speaking peoples in the Pacific Northwest of North America are showcased in this anthology of story, legend, song, and oratory.
The Cloak of Dreams: Chinese Fairy Tales by ISBN: 9780691147116Publication Date: 2010-09-12Translated and introduced by Jack Zipes, one of the world's leading authorities on fairy tales, The Cloak of Dreams brings together sixteen of Balázs's unique and haunting stories.
The Eagle on the Cactus: Traditional Stories from Mexico by ISBN: 9781563087035Publication Date: 2000-06-15This beautiful tapestry of traditional tales, history, folk arts, and dance offers you a glimpse into the living legacy of Mexican folklore.
Norse Mythology by ISBN: 9780195153828Publication Date: 2002-10-17Norse Mythology explores the magical myths and legends of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Iceland and Viking-Age Greenland.
Celtic Mythology: Tales of Gods, Goddesses, and Heroes by ISBN: 9780190460471Publication Date: 2017-03-01In this book, for the first time, Philip Freeman brings together the best stories of Celtic mythology.
The Sacred Oral Tradition of the Havasupai by ISBN: 9780826349316Publication Date: 2011-03-15Early in the twentieth century, Leslie Spier and Erna Gunther, graduate students trained by anthropologist Franz Boas, hiked to the bottom of the Grand Canyon to learn about Havasupai culture. In the process, they asked two Havasupai leaders and elders for every story they could remember. These were translated by native speakers and transcribed by Spier and, later, Gunther.
Myths and Legends of China by ISBN: 9781775414407Publication Date: 2009-01-01In Myths and Legends of China, author E.T.C. Werner offers up a rich tapestry of Chinese folk narratives. A must-read for fans of world myths, fairy tales, and legends.
An Illustrated Guide to Korean Mythology by ISBN: 9781905246601Publication Date: 2008-04-10This highly engaging volume by one of Korea's leading scholars of comparative mythology.
Moroccan Folktales by ISBN: 9780815611011Publication Date: 2018-01-30Drawing on stories he heard as a boy from female relatives, Jilali El Koudia presents a cross section of utterly bewitching narratives. Filled with ghouls and fools, kind magic and wicked, eternal bonds and earthly wishes, these are mesmerizing stories to be savored, studied, or simply treasured.
The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm by ISBN: 9780691160597Publication Date: 2014-10-19The original vision of Grimms' tales in English for the first time
Sky Loom by ISBN: 9780803246157Publication Date: 2014-11-01Sky Loom offers a dazzling introduction to Native American myths, stories, and songs drawn from previous collections by acclaimed translator and poet Brian Swann.
The Complete Fairy Tales by ISBN: 9780199236831Publication Date: 2009-10-04Charles Perrault's versions gave classic status to the humble fairy tale, and it is in his telling that the stories of Little Red Riding-Hood, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella and the rest have been passed down from the seventeenth century to the present day.
Encyclopedias - Virtual Reference
- Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Music and ArtProvides a cross-cultural survey of the major types and methods of inquiry in folklore to define the identity of every culture in the world.
- The Greenwood Library of World Folktales: Stories from the Great Collections Thomas A. Green, ed. Vol. 1: Africa, the Middle East, Australia, and OceaniaUse the "Search within" box on the top right of the encyclopedia to search by region or by title of the folk tale.
- UXL Encyclopedia of World MythologyUse the "Search within" box at the top of the encyclopedia to search by region or by title of myth.
Finding Books with Folktales
The Buxton Library has lots of great books for storytelling purposes. Search our library below. Try searching with the name of a country or culture, (e.g.) african americans folklore, china storytelling, etc.
Search the PVCC Library book collection here or go to the main PVCC Library Catalog.
Feel like browsing the shelves? Ask one of our librarians to direct you to the GRs for Folklore!
|
GR74 World Folklore |
GR202 Tales-Russia GR250 Tales-Balkan Peninsula GR305.5 Tales-India-Tamil Nadu GR308.5 Hmong (Asian People)-Folklore GR312 Tales-Thailand GR335 Tales-China GR338 Tales-Taiwan GR340 Tales-Japan GR342 Tales-Korea GR350.3 West African Folktales |
Books written for children (on the shelf at the library)
The titles below represent just a small number of the children's illustrated books we own on world folk tales, legends and mythology. Stop my our Information Desk to get help finding more.
Maya's Children by Call Number: Children Picture Book ANAYA, RUDOLFOISBN: 9780786801527Publication Date: 1997-05-05In ancient Mexico, the beautiful and magical grandchildren of the Sun God are endangered by the threat of Senor Tiempo who, jealous of their immortality, plots to destroy them.
Jade and Iron by Call Number: Children Fiction GARAYISBN: 9780888992567Publication Date: 1996-08-13Fourteen tales represent the aboriginal and the colonial European storytelling traditions and their influences in Latin America.
D'Aulaires' Book of Norse Myths by Call Number: Children Non-Fiction BL860 .D355 2005ISBN: 9781590171257Publication Date: 2005-05-31The Caldecott medal-winning d'Aulaires once again captivate their young audience with this beautifully illustrated introduction to Norse legends.
The Magic Hummingbird by Call Number: Children Picture Book: MALOTKIISBN: 9781885772046Publication Date: 1996-03-01Two children left behind in the drought stricken village of Oraibi, through their creativity & playfulness, influence Muy'ingwa, the god of fertility, to return the land to fruitfulness.
The Rough-Face Girl by Call Number: Children Picture Book: MARTINISBN: 9780399218590Publication Date: 1992-04-29From Algonquin Indian folklore comes one of the most haunting, powerful versions of the Cinderella tale ever told.
