ASK 24/7 LibChat - Welcome to LibChat!
Faculty - Information Science Division
John Chavez
He / Him / His
Purpose
Use the following resources to locate articles on you topic and research.
Use OneSearch to locate books, ebooks, & articles for your research.
To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.
Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library | ONESearch Tutorial
Article Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA broad, interdisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subjects. It includes a mix of scholarly articles, popular publications, and newspaper coverage. It’s an excellent starting point for the kind of research you will need to do in college courses.
- Credo Reference: Academic Core (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
- Critical Survey of Mythology & Folklore: Creation Myths This link opens in a new windowMythology, or the study of myth, refers equally to the body of myths held by a particular culture (e.g., Egyptian mythology). Myths are stories laden with symbols that communicate fundamental truths in societies possessing strong oral-literature traditions; in some cases, the stories are later written down. Typically myths are concerned with extraordinary beings-deities, heroes, fantastic beasts-and primal events. They have a close relationship to religious belief and have been a rich source of inspiration for literature, drama, and art throughout the world.
- Gale EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAcademic reference sources on a variety of topics. A great place to get background information.Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.
- JSTOR {ITHAKA) This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering arts, education, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text covers sociology and related disciplines, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work.
- Gale EBooks - MythologyLocate thousands of GALE eBooks on "Mythology".
Sample Search Terms
- Native American legends
- Creation Myths
- Greek Myths
- folklore Africa
- Aztec creation myth
- Norse gods
- Celtic mythology
Search in the Library Catalog for books on Myths, Legends, or Folktales
Search the PVCC Library book collection here or go to:
For a more focused search: Change the All fields drop-down menu to Subject or Keyword in Subject.
LC Classification of Books
The following topics - Myths Legends, and Folktales are listed under the following LC Classification system alphanumeric codes:
- BL: Mythology from all cultures
- E 98 and E 99: Native American legends and folktales
- F1202: History of Latin America
- GR1 - GR 950: Folklore and tales from specific countries or regions
- P (Literature): Folktales, Fairy Tales, Myths and Fables
eBooks
UXL Encyclopedia of World MythologyCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781414430300Publication Date: 2008-09-23
The Origins of the World's Mythologies by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780195367461Publication Date: 2013-01-04
Encyclopedias and References
- Encyclopedia MythicaThe Encyclopedia Mythica is an online encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and legends.
Encyclopedia of Fairies in World Folklore and Mythology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780786471119Publication Date: 2013-09-18
Encyclopedia of Giants and Humanoids in Myth, Legend and Folklore by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781476663517Publication Date: 2016-05-26
Encyclopedia of Spirits and Ghosts in World Mythology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781476663555Publication Date: 2016-03-24
