Ask for Help 24/7
Barcode
Get Help!
18401 North 32nd St
Phoenix, AZ 85032
E-Bldg - #E171
The purpose of this guide is to provide PVCC PSY290 students with the resources needed to support PSY290 assignments.
Library OneSearch
Search library resources for articles, books, movies, and more. You may find it helpful to the first search in psychology specific databases listed below or dive right into the Onesearch - the Library's version of Google - it searches most of our databases all at once.
Try phrasing your search like this example: - "obsessive-compulsive disorder" AND "empirical study"
Search library resources for articles, books, movies, and more
How to Search in OneSearch Video
Identifying Empirical Research
What is Empirical Research?
Empirical means experience or data derived from observation or experiment. Empirical research articles are published in scholarly peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal articles and describe how and why an experiment was conducted.
Most empirical research articles include the following components:
-
Abstract
-
Introduction
-
Literature Review
-
Methodology or Experiment
-
Results
-
Discussion or Conclusions
-
References
See more info:
Locate Empirical/Scholarly Research
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA broad, interdisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subjects. It includes a mix of scholarly articles, popular publications, and newspaper coverage. It’s an excellent starting point for the kind of research you will need to do in college courses.
- APA PsycArticles (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIt contains more than 200,000 psychiatry & psychology full-text scholarly articles from more than100 APA and allied organizations published peer-reviewed journals.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Explore journals, books and articles. NOTE: The Library does not subscribe to all ScienceDirect journals or books. Choose articles with a Download PDF icon.
- Scientific Reports (Springer Nature) This link opens in a new windowScientific Reports is an open access journal publishing original research from across all areas of the natural sciences, psychology, medicine and engineering.
-
Use quotes for specific phrases, (e.g.) "obsessive-compulsive disorder."
-
Check of full text to locate the entire text of an article.
-
Check of "peer-reviewed" to retrieve only scholarly journals with original research.
-
Brainstorm possible keywords to search on before beginning.
How to Read a Scholarly Article
What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?
Specialized Reference Books & Encyclopedias
Lay a firm foundation for your paper using these authoritative reference sources:
- DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (PDF) - (American Psychiatric Association) This link opens in a new window
- DSM-5TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (American Psychiatric Association This link opens in a new window