Use this guide to assist you in locating research information on Black History which will provide you with links to library databases -- to search for background information, as well as scholarly journals, books, etc.
Databases
- A-Z Databases: CultureFind the best library databases on Culture for your research.
- A-Z Databases: General / MultidisciplinaryFind the best library databases for your research.
- A-Z Databases: Hot Topics (Pro/Con)Find the best library databases for your research.
- A-Z Databases: NewspapersFind the best library Newspaper databases for your research.
- African American Experience: The American Mosaic (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowThe widest ranging online database collection on African American history and culture.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBy centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, we (ProQuest) hope this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter.
- Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowExplores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (Gale EBooks) This link opens in a new windowThis work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
- Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowInternational approach to news and current issues from multiple international sources. Includes news, viewpoints, background and country information, videos, statistics, biographies, podcasts, and links to relevant websites.
- Introduction to U.S. History: Slavery in America (1760-1910) (Gale) This link opens in a new windowA digital collection that documents the key aspects of the history of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition. Includes materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, the religious views on slavery, etc.
- Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation This link opens in a new windowIs a digital academic journal that publishes datasets and accompanying data articles about the lives of enslaved Africans and their descendants from the fifteenth to the early twentieth centuries.
- Multicultural Studies (Gale EBooks) This link opens in a new windowReference ebooks covering multicultural studies.
Use OneSearch to locate books, ebooks, & articles for your research.
To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.
Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library | ONESearch Tutorial
