Background / Encyclopedia Information
- Black KettleBlack Kettle was one of the chiefs who signed the treaty,
- Medicine Lodge TreatyBrief overview from "The Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890: A Political, Social, and Military History(Vol. 2.)"
- Treaty with the Cheyenne and ArapahoBrief overview from "Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty(Vol. 2.)"
- Medicine Lodge Treaty with the Kiowas, Comanches, and Apaches, October 1867Brief overview from "The Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890: A Political, Social, and Military History(Vol. 3.)"
- Little Bear's Account of the Sand Creek Massacre, 1864First person account of Sand Creek Massacre from "Voices of the American Indian Experience(Vol. 1: Creation - 1877.)"
- Medicine Lodge, Treaty of (1867)Encyclopedia entry from The New Encyclopedia of the American West.
- Treaty of Medicine LodgeBrief synopsis of the terms of the treaty from "The American Indian Experience."
Journal Articles
- The Beginning of the End: The Indian Peace Commission of 1867-1868Aside from a treaty made with the Nez Perce in late 1868, the Peace Commission was the last authorized group sent out by the government to conclude treaties with the Indian tribes of the United States.62 As well, the issue of transferring the Bureau of Indian Affairs to the War Department, recommended by the commissioners in their final report, became a major issue for more than a decade.63 The final sentiments of the Peace Commission supported General Sherman's intent to increase military control in the West.
- Reconstructing the Great Plains: the long struggle for sovereignty and dominance in the heart of the continentDetails how the American West was transformed during the Civil War era. "We are learning how western events and ambitions shaped the national struggles over race, freedom, and belonging and we are learning how those battles unfolded in the West, changing the region profoundly and irrevocably."
- Who Lies Buried in Satanta's Tomb? Commemorating a Kiowa Warrior.This essay reconsiders Satanta's life and career, aiming to place his actions, motives, and recorded speeches within a necessary framework of Kiowa culture and tradition. Taking for an opening text Satanta's gravestone marker, located in the prison cemetery in Huntsville, Texas, this essay also launches an interrogation into the archive of western conquest itself and the processes of historical production that work to construct negative Indigenous identities out of the violent imperatives of Manifest Destiny.
- Slaughtering the Bison, Controlling Native Americans: A State Crime and Green Criminology SynthesisUtilizing the case of the nineteenth century North American bison slaughter (1865–1890), we present an analysis that attends to the state and green crime elements present in this singular event and show that the bison slaughter exemplifies the type of case that benefits from a synthesis of the state and green criminology perspectives.
- The Kiowa Drawings of Gotebo (1847-1927): A Self-Portrait of Cultural and Religious TransitionTen color drawings made by Gotebo, a Kiowa, around 1914 chronicle several of the major cultural and religious experiences and transitions in his life from the pre-reservation period into the early twentieth century. Focusing on the period between circa 1865 to the 1890s, the drawings illustrate his experiences as a warrior, his first two marriages, and his religious participation in the Sun Dance, Peyotism, and Christianity.
Books & eBooks
Pen and Ink Witchcraft by ISBN: 9780199917303Publication Date: 2013-05-17Chapter 6 of this book focuses on the Medicine Lodge Treaty. Indian peoples made some four hundred treaties with the United States between the American Revolution and 1871, when Congress prohibited them. Calloway traces this process by focusing on the treaties of Fort Stanwix (1768), New Echota (1835), and Medicine Lodge (1867), in addition to such events as the Peace of Montreal in 1701 and the treaties of Fort Laramie (1851 and 1868).
How the Indians Lost Their Land by Call Number: E98.L3 B36 2005ISBN: 9780674018716Publication Date: 2005-10-25Between the early seventeenth century and the early twentieth,nearly all the land in the United States was transferred from AmericanIndians to whites. This dramatic transformation has been understood in two very different ways--as a series of consensual transactions, but also as a process of violent conquest. Both views cannot be correct. How did Indians actually lose their land? Stuart Banner provides the first comprehensive answer.
- Proceedings of the Great Peace Commission of 1867-1868From the introduction, "The proceedings contain the official minutes which were recorded during the treaty negotiations by a representative of the United States Government. They provide important information about the motives and concerns of the contracting parties. They also contain valuable clues to the interpretation of ambiguous articles and treaty provisions . It is this area , the intent of the treaties, on which the Institute for the Development of Indian Law wants to focus and make the basis for expansion and maintenance of Indian treaty rights within a contemporary context ."
- Medicine Lodge Treaty, Sixty Years Ago.This article is an excerpt from the March 1929 issue of Winners of the West which deals with the author's experience as head of the U.S. Armed Forces assigned to the Indian peace commission in 1867. The day the Armed Forces reached the treaty grounds, the escort and supply train was halted a couple of miles from the place while the commission and followers went ahead to meet an escort of warriors from the assembled tribes. All the troops had instructions what to do in case of demonstration of hostile intent, but stood in front of their tents with everything in readiness to jump to their places fully equipped for dismounted defense.
- The Military Conquest of the Prairie : Native American Resistance, Evasion and Survival, 1865-1890The Military Conquest of the Prairie is a study on the final wars on the prairie from the Native American perspective.
The Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Great Plains by ISBN: 9780231117005Publication Date: 2003-07-02Chapter 3 details treaties negotiated with Native Americans as settlers expanded westward.
The Military Conquest of the Prairie by ISBN: 9781845198008Publication Date: 2016-06-10The Military Conquest of the Prairie is a study on the final wars on the prairie from the Native American perspective.
