I. Introduction: Critical Historiographies - DAH255 - Hip Hop: Arts, Aesthetic and Culture - LibGuides at Paradise Valley Community College

I. Introduction: Critical Historiography of Hip Hop Dance

The historiography of hip hop dance involves tracing its origins, development, and cultural impact over time. Here’s an overview:

Origins and Early Development

Hip hop dance emerged in the late 1960s and early 1970s in the South Bronx, New York City. It was heavily influenced by the African American and Latino communities. Key figures like DJ Kool Herc, Afrika Bambaataa, and Grandmaster Flash played pivotal roles in its inception ¹ ².

Key Styles and Evolution

Breaking (Breakdancing): Often considered the purest form of hip hop dance, breaking began with dancers mimicking the moves of James Brown. It evolved into a more complex form with toprock, downrock, power moves, and freezes ¹.
Popping and Locking: These styles originated on the West Coast. Popping involves quick muscle contractions, while locking features sudden pauses or “locks” in movement ¹.
Boogaloo and Roboting: These funk styles also emerged in California and contributed to the broader hip hop dance culture ¹.

Cultural Impact and Spread

Hip hop dance quickly spread beyond New York and California, becoming a global phenomenon by the 1980s. Dance crews like the Rock Steady Crew, The Lockers, and The Electric Boogaloos were instrumental in popularizing these styles ¹.

Modern Developments

In the 1980s and 1990s, hip hop dance continued to evolve with the introduction of social dances like the Running Man and the Cabbage Patch. These dances became mainstream through music videos and television shows ². Today, hip hop dance is a staple in dance studios worldwide and continues to influence contemporary dance styles.

Academic and Cultural Studies

The historiography of hip hop dance also includes academic studies that explore its cultural significance, its role in community building, and its impact on global youth culture. Scholars examine how hip hop dance reflects social issues and contributes to cultural identity ².

Hip hop dance is not just a form of entertainment but a powerful cultural movement that continues to evolve and inspire. Do you have a favorite hip hop dance style or era?

Learn more 1. en.wikipedia.org 2. dancebibles.com 3. danceflavors.com 4. adoredance.london

I.A. Foundational Elements

Hip hop dance is a vibrant and dynamic style with several foundational elements. Here are the key components:

Breaking (B-boying/B-girling): This is one of the most well-known elements. It includes moves performed at different levels: toprock (standing), downrock (close to the floor), power moves (acrobatics), and freezes (poses) ¹.
Popping: Created by Sam Solomon, this style involves quickly contracting and relaxing muscles to create a jerking motion known as a “pop” or "hit" ¹.
Locking: Introduced by Don Campbell, locking involves quick movements followed by “locking” into another position and holding it for a few seconds. It often has a comedic flair and is performed to funk or soul music ¹.
Boogaloo: This style is characterized by loose, fluid movements, mainly using the hips and legs, giving the illusion that the dancer has no bones ¹.
Social Dances: These are freestyle dance styles that emerged in the 1980s and are often featured in music videos. They include various popular dances from that era ¹.
DJing, MCing, Beatboxing, Graffiti, and Fashion: While not dance elements per se, these are integral parts of hip hop culture and often influence the dance styles ².

These elements combine to create the energetic and expressive art form that is hip hop dance. Do you have a favorite style or move from hip hop dance?
Learn more 1. liveabout.com 2. performingdancearts.ca 3. ipassio.com

Nine Elements of Hip Hop - Overholtzer, James. "Nine Elements of Hip Hop." St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture, edited by Thomas Riggs, St. James Press, 2018, pp. 323-325. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3679700153/GVRL?u=mcc_main&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=89c1904d. Accessed 2 Sept. 2024.

I.B. Social, Political and Cultural Legacies Impacting the "Birth" of U.S. Hip Hop

Dance and Music - Encyclopedia of African American Music
Although its history goes back to the early 1970s, hip hop was a dominant dance phenomenon of the 1980s and 1990s. As a conglomerate of urban musical, visual, and dance influences, hip hop culture and its dance derivatives further demonstrate the symbiotic relationships between music and dance.

The Hip Hop Movement by Reiland Rabaka
ISBN: 9780739182437

Publication Date: 2013-04-04

Evolution of Hip Hop (1946-2022)

I.C. Hip Hop Culture and Art Today

This video is about the history of hip hop from a fans pov. This video covers from 1979 to 1986. The best of the 70s and 80s of hip hop. It features Kurtis Blow, The Sugarhill Gang, Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, Whodini, Run-D.M.C., The Fat Boys, LL Cool J, Salt-N-Pepa, Beastie Boys, UTFO, Afrika Bambaataa & Soul Sonic Force, Luke and the 2 Live Crew, Doug E. Fresh, Slick Rick, & the Get Fresh Crew and more.

This video is about the history of hip hop from a fans pov. This video covers from 1987 to 1989. 1987 to 1989 were giant years for hip hop. Many classic rappers and rap groups came out in those years, specifically in 1988. New platforms were also created for hip hop in these years motivating rappers to be better than ever and competition reached new levels. The best of the 80s of hip hop. It features Run-D.M.C., LL Cool J, Salt-N-Pepa, Public Enemy, Eric B. & Rakim, Too Short, Ice-T, Heavy D & the Boyz, N.W.A (Eazy E, Ice Cube, Dre Dre, MC Ren, DJ Yella), Kool Moe Dee, Biz Markie, DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince, Boogie Down Productions, Doug E. Fresh and the Get Fresh Crew, EPMD, Big Daddy Kane, Luke and the 2 Live Crew, Sir Mix-A-Lot, Eazy-E, MC Lyte, Kid 'n Play, Slick Rick, De La Soul, Gang Starr, and many more.

This video is about the history of hip hop from a fans pov. This video covers from 1990 to 1993. When the 90s began, hip hop started to change in different ways. A few rappers started to have extreme success and wanted to reach POP levels. Some rappers felt those rappers were betraying hip hop by catering to a POP audience. At the same time hard core rap was slowly taking over causing some to change styles while others in the middle attacked POP and hard core rap. The best of the 90s of hip hop. It features 2pac, Boogie Down Productions(BDP), Digital Underground, A Tribe Called Quest, Dr. Dre, Snoop Doggy Dogg, Comptons Most Wanted (CMW), Wu-Tang Clan, Queen Latifah, and many more.

This video is about the history of hip hop from a fans pov. This video covers from 1994 to 1997. The best of the 90s of hip hop. It features Outkast, 2pac, Notorious BIG (Biggie Smalls), Nas, Warren G, LL Cool J, Bone Thugs n harmony, Craig Mack, Puff Daddy (Diddy), Method Man, The Fugees, Heavy D & the Boyz, Coolio, Common, and many more.

This video is about the history of hip hop from a fans pov. This video covers from 1998 to 2001. The best of the 90s/2000s of hip hop. It features Outkast, Nas, Warren G, Puff Daddy (Diddy), Method Man, Common, Big L, Mobb Deep, Redman, A Tribe Called Quest, Fat Joe, The Roots, Lil Kim, Mystikal, Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Jay Z, DMX, Eve, Ludacris, MOP, Three 6 Mafia, Project Pat, Juvenile, The Hot Boys, Redman, Master P, Silkk The Shocker, TRU, Canibus, Big Pun, Lauryn Hill, Beastie Boys, 2Pac (Tupac), Busta Rhymes, Eminem, Slick Rick, Missy Elliott, Black Star (Mos Def & Talib Kweli), 50 Cent, Ice Cube, Dead Prez, Beanie Sigel, Trina, Nelly, Lil Bow Wow, Ja Rule, Prodigy, Lil Jon & the East Side Boyz, Jermaine Dupri, Pastor Troy, Petey Pablo, and many more.

This video is about the history of hip hop from a fans pov. Many young hip hop fans have no idea about the real history of Hip Hop. Even in this video series, I don't cover all of it but I do give the basics of things that happened throughout hip hop history. This video series shows rappers 2pac (Tupac), Notorious BIG (Biggie Smalls), Lil Wayne, Kanye West, Jay Z, Nas, Eminem, Drake, and Kendrick Lamar. You also get to see the hip hop music they grew up on. I feel this is the most accurate view of hip hop history on youtube. I give the highs and lows of it all. These are the songs and rap artist that made hip hop what it is today. These videos can also be seen as the ultimate hip hop playlist. For those who are already familiar with the history of hip hop, these videos will be a blast from the past. This will be the ultimate nostalgia trip.

I.D. Hip Hop Culture vs. Hip Hop Art

Hip hop dance plays a significant role in both hip hop culture and hip hop art, but its impact on each is distinct.

Hip Hop Culture

Hip hop dance is one of the four foundational elements of hip hop culture, alongside DJing, MCing (rapping), and graffiti art ¹. It fosters a sense of community and identity, bringing together individuals from diverse backgrounds who share a passion for self-expression ². Dance battles, cyphers, and performances are central to hip hop events, creating spaces where people can showcase their skills, connect, and celebrate their culture ². This communal aspect promotes empowerment and belonging, making hip hop dance a vital part of the cultural fabric.

Hip Hop Art

In the realm of hip hop art, dance influences visual and performing arts. For instance, the dynamic movements and styles of hip hop dance inspire graffiti artists and visual storytellers ³. The energy and creativity seen in dance are often mirrored in the vibrant colors and bold designs of street art. Additionally, hip hop dance has influenced theater and film, leading to productions that incorporate dance as a key element of storytelling ¹. This crossover enriches the artistic landscape, blending movement with visual and narrative art forms.

Intersection and Influence

The intersection of hip hop dance with both culture and art highlights its versatility and impact. While it strengthens cultural bonds and community identity, it also pushes artistic boundaries, inspiring new forms of expression and creativity ⁴. This dual influence ensures that hip hop dance remains a dynamic and integral part of both the cultural and artistic worlds.

Do you have a particular aspect of hip hop dance that interests you more, like its cultural impact or its artistic influence?

Learn more 1. en.wikipedia.org 2. blog.dancevision.com 3. artlife.com 4. kennedy-center.org 5. thesource.com 6.gettyimages.com

Hip hop culture and hip hop art are deeply intertwined, each influencing and enriching the other. Here’s a breakdown of their relationship:

Hip Hop Culture

Hip hop culture encompasses a wide range of artistic expressions and social practices. It originated in the 1970s in the Bronx, New York, and is built on four foundational elements:

DJing/Turntablism: The art of manipulating sounds and creating music using turntables and a DJ mixer.
MCing/Rapping: The vocal element of hip hop, involving rhythmic and rhyming speech.
B-boying/Breakdancing: A style of street dance that includes athletic moves and intricate footwork.
Graffiti Art: Visual art that often involves spray painting on public surfaces, initially used as a form of expression and rebellion ¹.

Hip Hop Art

Hip hop art, particularly visual art, has evolved alongside the culture. It includes:

Graffiti: One of the earliest forms of hip hop art, graffiti was a way for marginalized youth to express themselves and claim space in urban environments ¹.
Street Art: This includes murals and other forms of public art that convey social and political messages, often reflecting the struggles and aspirations of the community ².
Fine Art: Over time, hip hop artists like Jean-Michel Basquiat and Fab 5 Freddy bridged the gap between street art and the fine art world, bringing hip hop aesthetics into galleries and museums ² ³.

Interconnection

Expression and Identity: Both hip hop culture and art serve as powerful tools for expressing identity, resistance, and community. They provide a voice to the voiceless and challenge societal norms ².
Influence and Inspiration: Visual art in hip hop often draws inspiration from the music, dance, and fashion of the culture. Conversely, hip hop music and dance frequently incorporate visual elements from graffiti and street art ⁴.
Commercial and Cultural Impact: The relationship between hip hop and art has also influenced mainstream culture and the art market. High-profile collaborations and exhibitions highlight the cultural significance and commercial viability of hip hop art ⁴.

In essence, hip hop culture and hip hop art are two sides of the same coin, each enriching the other and contributing to a dynamic and evolving cultural movement. Is there a particular aspect of this relationship that interests you more?

Learn more 1. iconcollective.edu 2. artlife.com 3. mdpi.com 4. slam.org

I.E. Polyculturalism, globalism, transnationalism

Hip hop dance is a fascinating example of how polyculturalism, globalism, and transnationalism intersect and influence cultural expressions. Here’s how these concepts relate to hip hop dance:

Polyculturalism

Polyculturalism refers to the idea that cultures are interconnected and influence each other. Hip hop dance, which originated in the African American and Latino communities of New York City, has absorbed and integrated elements from various cultures around the world. For example, traditional African dance, martial arts from Asia, and even European street dance styles have all contributed to the evolution of hip hop dance ¹.

Globalism

Globalism is the process by which businesses or other organizations develop international influence or start operating on an international scale. Hip hop dance has become a global phenomenon, transcending its roots in the United States to become a universal form of expression. Dance crews from countries like South Korea, France, and Brazil have not only adopted hip hop dance but have also added their unique cultural flavors, creating a rich, global tapestry of styles ².

Transnationalism

Transnationalism involves the flow of people, ideas, and goods across national boundaries. Hip hop dance exemplifies this through international competitions, workshops, and collaborations. Events like the World Hip Hop Dance Championship bring together dancers from all over the world, fostering a sense of global community and shared cultural exchange ³.

These concepts highlight how hip hop dance is not just a form of entertainment but also a dynamic cultural practice that bridges gaps between different communities and nations. It’s a powerful example of how art can transcend borders and bring people together.

Does this perspective on hip hop dance resonate with you?

Learn more 1. academic.oup.com 2. diggitmagazine.com 3. cambridge.org 4.doi.org

Polyculturalism

50 years of Hip-Hop: Exploring the Transformative Influence of Hip-Hop on the Field of Social Work
In the dimly lit streets of New York City's marginalized neighborhood, under the open sky of public parks, a cultural revolution was brewing. Born from the struggles and aspirations of African American and Latino youth, hip-hop emerged as a powerful force that would eventually illuminate the path toward social change and empowerment. Beyond its musical influence, hip-hop has made a profound impact on social work, empowering communities, advocating for social justice, and providing innovative approaches to therapy. As we celebrate 50 years of Hip-Hop, we explore how it has played a pivotal role in the field of social work.
A Guide to Hip-Hop Culture in the Bronx, Past and Present
Hip-hop historians and fans have pinpointed the origin of hip-hop culture as August 11, 1973, the day Jamaican-born Clive Campbell—aka DJ Kool Herc—manned the turntables at a back-to-school party planned by his sister, Cindy. The festivities took place at 1520 Sedgwick Avenue in the Bronx's Morris Heights, establishing the borough as the birthplace of a movement. Using limited resources—in this case, two turntables, a microphone and a booming sound system—the predominantly Black and Latino youth of the inner city made their own music and culture.

Globalism

African Hip Hop - St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture
African hip hop is most commonly understood as hip hop music and culture performed and practiced by continental Africans.African hip hop may be considered hip hop created and practiced across the black world, or hip hop created in the interests of black/African liberation or by and through black/African consciousness, or some combination of these criteria.
Asian Hip Hop -St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture
Asian hip hop can be characterized as the outcome of the confluence of Asian pop culture in all its regionally diverse manifestations and American hip hop. In many Asian countries, mainstream hip hop is far removed from American hip hop in both musical style and subject matter. The work of Asian hip hop artists residing in the United States, however, largely recalls the issue of race and discrimination prevalent in American hip hop as the central identity of rap. The aspect of resistance in hip hop culture has been maintained across Asian hip hop communities in both Asia and the United States, leading to the frequent use of the genre in the twenty-first century as a means of voicing sociopolitical protest.
European Hip Hop - St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture
European hip hop music has its origins in the commercialization of hip hop in the United States. As the genre emerged from house parties and underground clubs in urban areas such as New York City in the 1970s and early 1980s, it slowly gained market viability in the recording industry then quickly spread across the Atlantic. The musical genre is rooted in a culture and lifestyle that includes graffiti, breakdancing, MCing, DJing, and fashion. Transatlantic family ties assisted in the relatively rapid cultural transmission of hip hop from the United States to Europe.
Korean Hip Hop - St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture
In the early 1990s, US armed forces stationed in South Korea listened to a wide variety of music, including hip hop and jazz. Hip hop took root with Koreans, inspiring the birth of rap dance music. During the golden age of Korean hip hop, from 2000 to 2010, Korean hip hop artists were divided into two groups based on their approach to creating rhymes: those who used simple rhymes and those who used complex rhyme techniques.
Latin American Hip Hop - St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture
Latin American hip hop refers to any aspect of hip hop culture (e.g., rap, graffiti, breakdancing, etc.) that takes place within Latin America or is performed by someone of Latin American descent. Although Latin American hip hop is an adaptation of US hip hop culture, it has been remade in a way that fits the Latin American cultural, social, and political experience. Latin American hip hop is culturally unique in its rhythms, instruments, musical timbre, dances, and melodies. Latin American hip hop artists have further individualized the genre by injecting it with their political and social experiences. Like US hip hop artists, Latin American artists use hip hop to address systems of oppression, including (neo)colonialism, racism, socialism, assaults on freedom of speech, and more.

Transnationalism

DanceSport - Sports around the World: History, Culture, and Practice
DanceSport is a competitive individual, couple, or group dance that adheres to a style of dance discipline. Competitors demonstrate advanced technique and rhythmic interpretation with elements of athleticism and aesthetics.

more... less...

Origins of Popular Music Styles of the 20th Century and Their Associated Dance Styles

Before 1920: the archaic jazz era (tap dance, ragtime, cake walk, tango, one step, two step, blues, shimmy, foxtrot, quick step, slow fox)
1920–1935: the jazz age (Charleston, boogie woogie, lindy hop, etc.)
1935–1954: the swing era (swing, jitterbug, jive, mambo)
1954–1960: the rock and roll era (rumba, cha-cha-cha, cucaracha, rock'n'roll, twist, etc.)
1960s: beat time (soul, funky, bossa nova, etc.)
1970s: disco (shake, bump, funk disco, disco jazz, reggae)
1980s: hip-hop (break dance, salsa, hip-hop, electric boogie, techno, house, etc.)
Olympic Breaking | Paris 2024 Olympics
Breaking featured at the Summer Youth Olympic Games in Buenos Aires in 2018. Following its outstanding success at the Games in Argentina, breaking was added to the Paris 2024 Olympic programme as a new sport.

more... less...

The breaking competition at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games comprises two events—one for men and one for women—where 16 B-Boys and 16 B-Girls will face off in spectacular solo battles. Athletes will use a combination of power moves—including windmills, the 6-step, and freezes—as they adapt their style and improvise to the beat of the DJ’s tracks in a bid to secure the judges’ votes and take home the first Olympic breaking medals.
World Hip Hop Dance Championship
The World Hip Hop Dance Championship is an international hip-hop dance competition created in 2002 by Hip Hop International co-founders Howard and Karen Schwartz, who also created the competitive dance reality television series America's Best Dance Crew. The competition is considered the largest dance competition in the world with more than 50 countries competing each year. The competition has been held since its inception in 2002, except in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The next competition will be held on 26 July to 2 August 2025 at the Arizona Grand Resort & Spa in Phoenix, Arizona.