Use the following links and search box to locate various books and media on critical thinking!
Library Catalog
Search the PVCC Library book collection here or go to:
For a more focused search: Change the All fields drop-down menu to Subject or Keyword in Subject.
Suggested Books
Critical Writing : A Guide to Writing a Paper Using the Concepts and Processes of Critical Thinking by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781538140901Publication Date: 2021-03-17
More Books & eBooks
eBooks on Critical ThinkingCall Number: ebooksPublication Date: 1998 - CurrentCheck out eBooks on Critical Thinking!
Articles Databases
Articles Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA broad, interdisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subjects. It includes a mix of scholarly articles, popular publications, and newspaper coverage. It’s an excellent starting point for the kind of research you will need to do in college courses.
- College (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIs a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education.
- Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowInternational approach to news and current issues from multiple international sources. Includes news, viewpoints, background and country information, videos, statistics, biographies, podcasts, and links to relevant websites.
- JSTOR {ITHAKA) This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering arts, education, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowThis database brings together academic articles, audio, videos, opinion essays and primary sources about contemporary controversies and hot topics. Whether you need a balanced view or support for your position, Opposing Viewpoints is the first place to go when you're researching a controversial or contentious issue. It's also a great place to find or narrow a topic.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThis is the largest single periodical and ebooks resources available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Arts, Biology, Business, Career and Technical, Computer Science, Consumer Health, Criminal Justice, Drama, Environmental Science, Education, Engineering, Health & Medical, Healthcare, Humanities, Library Science, Linguistics, Materials Science, Military, News-Local & International, Nursing & Allied Health, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Religion, Research, Social Sciences, Sciences, Technology, and Telecommunications.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
References
References
-
Brookfield, Stephen D. Teaching for Critical Thinking: Tools and Techniques to Help Students Question Their Assumptions. 2012.
-
Elder, Linda and Richard Paul. 30 Days to Better Thinking and Better Living through Critical Thinking. 2012.
-
Fasko, Jr., Daniel, ed. Critical Thinking and Reasoning: Current Research, Theory, and Practice. 2003.
-
Fisher, Alec. Critical Thinking: An Introduction. 2011.
-
Paul, Richard and Linda Elder. Critical Thinking: Learn the Tools the Best Thinkers Use. 2006.
-
Faculty Focus article, A Syllabus Tip: Embed Big Questions
-
The Critical Thinking Community
-
The Critical Thinking Community’s The Thinker’s Guides Series and The Art of Socratic Questioning
-
Hawkins DR, and Paul R, Elder L. The Thinker's Guide to Clinical Reasoning. Dillon, CA. Foundation for Critical Thinking. 2010.
-
Elder L, Paul R. The thinker's guide to analytic thinking. Dillon, CA. Foundation for Critical Thinking,. 2010.
-
Nosich GM. Learning to think things through: a guide to critical thinking across the curriculum, 4th ed. Boston, MA. Pearson. 2012.
-
Paul R, Elder L The Miniature Guide to Critical Thinking: Concepts and Tools. Foundation for Critical Thinking. 2009.
-
The Foundation For Critical Thinking.
-
Paul R, Elder L, Hiler W. A Miniature Guide for Those Who Teach on How to Improve Student Learning: 30 Practical Ideas. Dillon Beach, CA. Foundation for Critical Thinking, 2007.
-
Paul R, Elder L. Paul Elder Critical Thinking Model.
-
Paul R, Elder L. Intellectual Standards. Adapted from Critical Thinking: Concepts and Tools mini-guide.
-
Cullen, Morris. Critical Thinking : A Beginner's Guide to Developing Reasoning Skills. Learn to Think Critically in Daily Life to Make Better Decisions and Solve Problems. 2021.