HIS103 - United States History to 1865

Some recommended library databases for you to use:

• Sources in US History: Slavery: History of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition.

• History Reference Center: Articles, biographies, etc. on all aspects of US History.

• JSTOR: Comprehensive index to journals in the social sciences and humanities

• African American Experience: Books, articles, and primary sources in African American history.

• American Indian Experience: Books, articles, and primary sources in Native American history.

• Native American Archives: Primary documents about the Native American experience.

• Latino American Experience: Books, articles, and primary sources in Latinx American history

• Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: Articles and history on all multicultural Americans living in the US.

• Introduction to U.S. History: Slavery in America (1760-1910) - A digital collection that documents the key aspects of the history of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition. Includes materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, the religious views on slavery, etc.

• Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers -  Chronicling America contains millions of newspaper pages from nearly every state and territory in the United States published through 1963.

Relevant titles for your class from the Gale E-Books database:​
 

Native American Experience:

• U*X*L Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes

• Encyclopedia of American Indian History

• Treaties with American Indians

• Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal

• The Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890: A Political, Social, and Military History

• Voices of the American Indian Experience

African American Experience:

• Encyclopedia of African American History

• Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History

• Gale Library of Daily Life: Slavery in America

American Revolution:

• Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of Military History

Colonialism/Migration Issues:

• Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450

• Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation, and Integration

Multiple Issues:

• Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia

• Voices from the Days of Slavery.  (Library of Congress American Memory Project; former slaves tell their stories.)
• North American Slave Narratives Collection (UNC Chapel Hill Univ. Library)
• Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, & Abolition (Yale U. w/ over 200 online speeches, letters, cartoons, interviews, and articles.
• Documents on Slavery (Avalon Project, Yale Law School)
• African American History, University of Washington Libraries

Digital History-Slavery:
From an interactive, multimedia history of the United States from the Revolution to the present. This website was designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and is supported by the Department of History and the College of Education at the University of Houston. See Credits for more information.