Books
Careers in Health Information Technology (HIT) by
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can work√>=hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and training√>=along with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker "tips" throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekers Explores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within them Details education requirements and quickest pathways to attain them Includes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughout Presents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
Call Number: eBook - click on titleISBN: 9780826129932Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Handbook of Medical and Healthcare Technologies by
This book equips readers to understand a complex range of healthcare products that are used to diagnose, monitor, and treat diseases or medical conditions affecting humans. The first part of the book presents medical technologies such as medical information retrieval, tissue engineering techniques, 3D medical imaging, nanotechnology innovations in medicine, medical wireless sensor networks, and knowledge mining techniques in medicine. The second half of the book focuses on healthcare technologies including prediction hospital readmission risk, modeling e-health framework, personal Web in healthcare, security issues for medical records, and personalized services in healthcare. The contributors are leading world researchers who share their innovations, making this handbook the definitive resource on these topics. Handbook of Medical and Healthcare Technologies is intended for a wide audience including academicians, designers, developers, researchers and advanced-level students. It is also valuable for business managers, entrepreneurs, and investors within the medical and healthcare industries.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781461484950Publication Date: 2013-11-20
Healthcare Information Technology Innovation and Sustainability by
"This book presents research in the emerging field on information systems and informatics in the healthcare industry, addressing innovative concepts and critical issues through case studies and experimental research"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781466627970Publication Date: 2013-01-31
Understanding Healthcare Information by
In an age of internet resource guides, which suffer from the malaise of being outdated before they are published, this much-needed publication addresses the information chain in its entirety, offering a timeless method of understanding healthcare information resources. The author takes a holistic approach in her consideration of healthcare information, with the aim of building an overall understanding of it within the information society. The text analyses the domain of healthcare information, its organizational structures and history, and the nature of its resources and the drivers for change affecting them. It looks at examples of healthcare information resources from the perspective of different user groups, including healthcare professionals and consumers, and goes on to highlight areas of research into healthcare information, including evaluation studies, user and impact studies, bibliometrics, metadata and Web 2.0. The key areas covered are: the healthcare information domain the history of healthcare and its information environment producers and users of healthcare information healthcare information organization healthcare information sources, services and retrieval healthcare information and knowledge management. Readership: This book is written primarily for students of library and information science (LIS), studying either at masters or advanced undergraduate level, and also for practising information professionals and specialists who want to develop their knowledge and bring their skills up to date. It will also be of interest to anyone working in the field of library and information science wishing to understand healthcare information, especially public librarians, who are increasingly called on to advise on health resources, as well as anyone interested in 'healthcare literacy'.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781856049993Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Information Systems for Healthcare Management by
This updated best seller provides the comprehensive knowledge readers need to understand healthcare information technology (HIT) and to hone their skills in HIT management. The, book explores the areas where leaders must exhibit basic awareness or competency, including the evaluation, selection, and implementation of hardware, software, and communication systems and operational, management, and clinical applications. Each chapter has been revised to reflect current trends and challenges in the field as well as the implications of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and other relevant federal mandates. Each chapter also features learning objectives and discussion questions. Links to web resources supplement the information presented on the major topics covered in each chapter. This hew edition includes a glossary of technical terms as well as a list of commonly used abbreviations. The Eight Edition covers the Following Topics: The five broad forces that will drive future change and potentially have profound impacts on HIT in and across organizations, The roles that government policy and healthcare reform play in influencing HIT, HIT governance and strategic planning in healthcare organizations, including pertinent background, organization of planning efforts, the importance of system integration, the basics of systems theory, and an overview of management control and decision support systems, The various elements of an information system-the devices, programs, and communication networks-and possible configurations that support clinical service delivery and associated business processes, The ten key operational and tactical processes that are critical to maximizing. HIT efficiencies and effectiveness, Electronic health records and financial applications as prime example of important technologies in patient care and financial management, The Major techniques used to evaluate an HIT investment Book jacket.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781567935998Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Integrating Information Technology and Management for Quality of Care by
The impact of information technology on the management of healthcare has been enormous in recent years, and it continues to grow in scope and complexity. This book presents papers from the 2014 International Conference on Informatics, Management, and Technology in Healthcare (ICIMTH), held in Athens, Greece, in July 2014. The book includes 79 full papers and 12 poster presentations as well as keynotes, two workshops and three tutorials. Papers are divided into sections including: clinical informatics; decision support and intelligent systems; e-learning and education; health informatics, information management and technology assessment; healthcare IT; mobile technology in healthcare; public health informatics and issues; social and legal issues; and telemedicine. The book will be of interest to all those whose work involves the use of biomedical and health informatics.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781614994220Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Transforming Healthcare with Health Information Technology by
Information technology (IT) has the potential to transform healthcare as it has transformed many parts of our economy and society in recent decades. Despite this great promise, the impact of IT on healthcare over the past decade has so far been modest. Compared to other industrialized nations, the United States lags far behind in the use of electronic health records. This book examines how health information technology could improve the quality of healthcare and reduce its cost, and whether existing Federal efforts in health information technology are optimized for these goals.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781613244173Publication Date: 2011-09-01
RHIT Exam Preparation Information
-
RHIT Exam Preparation ResourcesList of recommended books & Resources from AHIMA for RHIT exam prep.
-
Exam ResourcesAHIMA online guide for their certification exams.
-
Candidate GuideAHIMA onine guide for their certification exams.
-
HITNOTSDozens of free multiple choice review quizzes on HIT topics.
The Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act
- The Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) ActThis report provides a summary and explanation of the provisions in the HITECH Act, which is intended to promote the widespread adoption of health information technology (HIT) for the electronic sharing of clinical data among hospitals, physicians, and other health care stakeholders. It gives an overview of prior actions taken by Congress and the Administrations to promote HIT, and briefly describes efforts by the 109th and 110th Congresses to enact comprehensive HIT legislation.
More eBooks on HIT
Introduction to Computer Systems for Health Information Technology by Introduction to Computer Systems for HIT covers the basic principles and mechanics of the electronic health record (EHR), data retrieval, and healthcare computer systems.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781584262206Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Mastering Informatics: A Healthcare Handbook for Success by
Informatics, the science of processing data for storage and retrieval, is vital in today's healthcare environment. At the core of informatics practice is the electronic health record (EHR).
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781938835667Publication Date: 2014-12-01
APA Citing
- Citing Your Sources GuideIf you need help with citing please connect with your college librarian at 602-787-7210.
- APA Formatting and Style Guide APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing). Contributors:Joshua M. Paiz, Elizabeth Angeli, Jodi Wagner, Elena Lawrick, Kristen Moore, Michael Anderson, Lars Soderlund, Allen Brizee, Russell Keck Last Edited: 2016-05-13 12:06:24
- APA Sample Paper APA sample from Purdue University.
Videos
HIT Statistics
- Calculating Census-related Statistics Video Statistics video from National Online HIT Program Coordinator (Rasmussen College) Charlee Bumgardner.
- Calculating Mortality & Clinical Statistics video Statistics video from National Online HIT Program Coordinator (Rasmussen College) Charlee Bumgardner.
- Case Mix Statistics video Statistics video from National Online HIT Program Coordinator (Rasmussen College) Charlee Bumgardner.
- Health IT Dashboard - Quick Stats These data visualizations of key data and statistics provide quick access to the latest facts and figures about health IT.
- Intro to Stats video Introduction to Statistics video from National Online HIT Program Coordinator (Rasmussen College) Charlee Bumgardner.
- National Center for Health Statistics The National Center for Health Statistics' website, is a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy.
- National Information Center on Health Services and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) HSR Information Central is not an index of all health services resources on the Web. Rather, it contains selective links repre -senting a sample of available information. Items are selected for their quality, authority of authorship, uniqueness, and appropriateness.