Course Reserves
Understanding Normal and Clinical Nutrition by ISBN: 9781285458762Integrates practical information and valuable resources to help students apply nutrition knowledge and skills to their daily lives and in the clinical setting.
Nutrition: Your Life Science by ISBN: 9781305112575Helps students understand the fundamental principles of nutritional science through an interactive and flexible learning experience.
Understanding Nutrition by ISBN: 9781285874364Uses an integrated pedagogical approach with an emphasis on active learning, assignable content, and integrated resources.
Nutrition for Life by ISBN: 9780321774354Demonstrates how nutrition relates directly to students' health and daily lives.
ServSafe Manager by ISBN: 9781582802992Helps students prepare for the ServSafe Food Protection Manager Certification Exam and promotes adherence to food safety practices on the job.
The Profession of Dietetics: A Team Approach by ISBN: 9781449678388Offers students a complete toolbox of resources for beginning a career in nutrition and dietetics.
Nutrition for Sport and Exercise by ISBN: 9781285752495Integrates nutrition and exercise physiology principles, emphasizing scientific reasoning and examining research studies to illuminate the evidence for current nutritional recommendations.
Management Practice in Dietetics by ISBN: 9781626614062Deals with management in all areas of dietetics and provides clear, relevant examples of management principles and the ways they can be applied.
Foodservice Management by ISBN: 9780135122167Covers all core topics, including food safety, organizational design, human resources, performance improvement, finance, equipment, design, layout, and marketing.
Specialized Diets
- Cardiac: Low Fat / Salt Modified / Fluid Controlled
- Respiratory: Small Frequent Meals / High Calorie / High Protein
- Cancer/Immune: Neutropenic Diet
- Endocrine: Diabetic Diet / Calorie Controlled Diet
- Renal: Salt Modified / Protein Modified
- GI: High or Low Fiber / Low Irritant
Patient guidance, including recipes
These books in the PVCC library address clinical nutrition in the context of various diseases and disorders, including cardiovascular, respiratory, cancer, endocrine, renal, and gastrointestinal. They include suggestions for helping patients develop dietary habits to support their treatments:
- Krause's Food & The Nutrition Care Process, 14th ed. Library call number RM216 .M285 2017
- Manual of Nutritional Therapeutics, 6th ed. Library call number RM217.2 .A47 2015
- Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice, 6th ed. Library call number RM216 .D8627 2010
- Clinical Nutrition in Practice, 1st ed. Library call number RM217 .C65 2010
- Medical Nutrition & Disease: A Case-based Approach, 4th ed. Library call number RM216 .M456 2009
- Pocket Guide to Nutritional Assessment and Care, 6th ed. Library call number RM219 .M585 2009
Websites of interest -- several include suggestions for recipes:
- Eating After Your Heart Surgery, from the University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics
- Nutrition and COPD, from Today's Dietitian Magazine
- The Neutropenic Diet, from the University of Mississippi Medical Center
- Low Microbial Diet Guidelines, from the UC San Diego Health System
- Diet Guidelines for Immunosuppressed Patients, from the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
- Diabetic Diet, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Diet: Chronic Kidney Disease, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Nutrition, from the National Kidney Foundation
- Irritable Bowel Syndrome Diet, from the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Research articles
The library also provides on- and off-campus access to health and medical databases, including the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) and the Nursing Reference Center. Search CINAHL Complete for articles relating to research and practice in nursing:
- Start at the library's home page: http://www.paradisevalley.edu/library
- Click on the link to Selected eResources by Subject on the left side of the page
- Click on Science/Nursing (fourth blue bar in middle of page)
- And select CINAHL Complete or another related database
CINAHL and the other databases consist of very large collections of articles from professional and scientific journals and magazines. You can search for articles via keyword or key phrase, or via predefined subject terms (a librarian can help with this). In many cases the complete article (full text) will be immediately available to you online.
For articles on specialized diets in the context of nursing, try CINAHL, using the subject (SU) terms diet therapy or nutrition along with the name of the disease or disorder of interest. Here is an example:
Study Resources for the DTR Exam
DTR Study Buddy 2017: A Comprehensive Review Guide for the DTR Exam - (print+disc) FON/NUTRITION RESERVE - Covers Nutrition Science and Care for Individuals and Groups, Food Science and Food Service, and Management of Food and Nutrition Services.
DTR Study Buddy 2015: A Comprehensive Review Guide for the DTR Exam - (print+disc) FON/ANONSEN RESERVE - Covers Food and Nutrition Sciences, Nutrition Care for Individuals and Groups, Principles of Education and Training, Foodservice Systems, and Management of Food and Nutrition Services.
Inman's Review of Dietetics 2017-2018 - (print+discs) FON/NUTRITION RESERVE - Covers Principles of Dietetics, Nutrition Care for Individuals and Groups, Management of Food and Nutrition Programs and Services, and Foodservice Systems.
Study Guide for the Registration Examination for Dietetic Technicians, Sixth Edition - (print) FON/ANONSEN RESERVE
Study Guide for the Registration Examination for Dietetic Technicians, Eighth Edition - (print) FON/ANONSEN RESERVE
Credentialing Exam Study Guide: CDM/CFPP Certification, Fifth Edition - (print) FON/ANONSEN RESERVE
Review of Dietetics: Manual for the Registered Dietitian Exam, 2017-2019 Edition - (print) FON/ANONSEN RESERVE
Secrets Study Guide: Dietetic Technician, Registered Exam 2015 - (print) FON/ANONSEN RESERVE
Finding Nutrition and Dietetics Information
Alt Health Watch - This alternative health research database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
BMC Complementary & Alternative Medicine - Provides research articles in interventions and resources that complement or replace conventional therapies.
Consumer Lab - Consumer Lab identifies the best quality health and nutritional products through independent testing.
Health Source Consumer Edition - This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to more than 80 full-text consumer health magazines.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition - Trusted source of nursing and allied health literature which covers an array of relevant topics, including nutrition, pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and much more.
JADA - The Journal of the American Dietetic Association is the premier source for the practice and science of food, nutrition, and dietetics. Coverage is 1993-2011; journal continues as JAND.
JAND - The Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics continues JADA from 2012 to present.
Natural Medicines - Natural Medicines is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
Nursing Reference Center Plus - A clinical resource providing evidence-based information about patient care, nutrition, safety, and education throughout the continuum of care.
Nutrition & Diatectics Streaming Media:
Course Reserves
Practical Applications in Sports Nutrition by ISBN: 9781449602086Provides students and practitioners with the latest sports nutrition information and dietary practices so they can assist athletes and fitness enthusiasts in achieving their personal performance goals.
Nutrition Through the Life Cycle by ISBN: 9780495116370Uses current research to explain the nutritional foundations necessary for the growth, development, and normal functioning of individuals in each stage of the life span.
Nutrition, Exercise, & Behavior: An Integrated Approach to Weight Management by ISBN: 9780840069245Presents the basic principles of weight management and examines the role that nutrition and physical fitness play in weight control.
Understanding Food: Principles and Preparation by ISBN: 9781133607151An introductory guide to foods, food preparation, food service, and food science.
Managing Foodservice and Food Safety by ISBN: 9780975347690
Spanish for the Nutrition Professional by ISBN: 9780880914284Topics include how to have an introductory conversation in Spanish, typical Spanish eating habits, foods and meal times, and common questions and phrases in Spanish that the practitioner might frequently use with clients.
Community Nutrition in Action: An Entrepreneurial Approach by ISBN: 9781111989682Introduces the program planning, policies, resources, and nutrition issues specific to community nutrition and provides an understanding of creating and implementing nutrition programs for various constituencies. Incorporating an entrepreneurial approach, helps practitioners learn how to take risks, try new technologies, and use fresh approaches to improving the public's nutrition and health status.
Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide by ISBN: 9781284094381Describes the entire research process beginning with the identification of a research question and the selection of a study approach, proceeding through the collection and analysis of data and the preparation of a formal scientific report, and ending with academic and professional presentations and publication.
