Skip to Main Content

PSY101 - Introduction to Psychology

To acquaint the student with basic principles, methods and fields of psychology such as learning, memory, emotion, perception, physiological, developmental, intelligence, social and abnormal.

Citation A Very Brief Introduction

Citing Journal Articles from Databases

Articles

Academic Journals (Publication Manual, pp. 198-199; Style Guide, p. 12)

 

Source

Reference List Citation

Library database with DOI

Sagarin, B. J., & Lawler-Sagarin, K. A. (2005). Critically evaluating competing theories: An exercise based on the Kitty Genovese murder. Teaching of Psychology, 32(3), 167–169. https://doi.org/10.1207/s15328023top3203_8

What is a DOI?
Some library databases, such as PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO, list a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for individual articles. A DOI is a unique identifying number for an article. In the database record for an article, you will see an element that looks like this, which you should include at the end of your APA reference, preceded by "https://doi.org/":

Digital Object Identifier

This link will allow a reader to link to doi.org for more information about the article.

However, the APA Style Guide to Electronic References (2012, p. 5) notes that it is still acceptable to use the older style of DOI format in a citation, for example:

Amidzic, O., Riehle, H. J., & Elbert, T. (2006). Toward a psychophysiology of expertise: Focal magnetic gamma bursts as a signature of memory chunks and the aptitude of chess players. Journal of Psychophysiology, 20(4), 253-258. doi:10.1027/0269-8803.20.4.253

Library database without DOI

Reitzes, D. C., & Mutran, E. J. (2004). The transition to retirement: Stages and factors that influence retirement adjustment. International Journal of Aging and Human Development, 59(1), 63-84. Retrieved from http://www.baywood.com/journals/PreviewJournals.asp?Id=0091-4150

No DOI? Find the journal's homepage.
Do a Web search to find the address of the homepage of the journal that published the article and include it in your citation. Please be aware, however, that the full text of articles may not actually be available at the journal homepage.

Cannot find the journal's homepage?
In this case, do a Web search for the name of the database you are using (for example, "JSTOR" or "Business Source Complete") and use the address of its homepage.

Free Web

Giancola, P. R. (2004). Executive functioning and alcohol-related aggression. American Psychologist, 59(2), 5-7. Retrieved from http://www.apa.org/journals/amp/

In print

Hughes, J. C., Brestan, E. V., & Valle, L. A. (2004). Problem-solving interactions between mothers and children. Child and Family Behavior Therapy, 26(1), 1-16.

How to Cite Nursing Reference Center Plus - APA

Author, A. & Author, B. (Date of publication). Title of article in sentence case. Title of Source/Publication in mixed case and italics. Retrieved from Name database

Formatted Example:

image

Citing DSM5

Here's what a citation looks like:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and 
     statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). Washington, DC: 
     Author.
Text citation: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)

Individual chapters and other parts of DSM-5 have been assigned DOIs. If you used the online edition of the DSM, give the DOI in the publisher position:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Cautionary statement for 
     forensic use of DSM-5. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of 
     mental disorders (5th ed.). doi:10.1176/appi.books
     .9780890425596.744053
Text citation: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)

APA Citation Basics