Technical Troubleshooting FAQs

Database Access Problems

Are you a current student, staff, or faculty at PVCC? Unfortunately, community borrowers do not have remote access to databases due to copyright policy. Try these steps to solve any access issues

1. Check your Firewall settings: Turn off the firewall and then try accessing the database
2. Check for Internet Security Software
3. Disable your popup blocker
4. Check your Browser: Our databases work best using Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Edge. Internet Explorer doesn't not work well with our databases
5. Change the Privacy Level on your Browser. ...,
6. Clear your cache, cookies, history, and/or old files from your browser's history - 
7. Call 602-787-7200 during regular hours or send an email to library@paradisevalley.edu, and we will respond between 24-48 hours

Technical Access Problems

Please go to the Technical Help Desk to help you with any technical issues you might be having.
https://www.paradisevalley.edu/employees/information-technology/technology-help-desk/student-faq

• What's an MEID?
  • The MEID or (Maricopa Enterprise Identification) credential Maricopa uses to identify your access to resources. It consists of the first 3 letters of your name followed by 2 more letters and then a series of random numbers (e.g. abcde12345).
• How do I set up my MEID and password?
  • If you are a first time student, go to www.maricopa.edu/students and select the "Create MEID" option.
• What if I forgot my MEID?
  • If you forget your MEID, go to www.maricopa.edu/students and select the "Find MEID" option.
• What if I forgot or need to reset my password?
  • You can reset your password by using the password reset utility located at https://tools.maricopa.edu/Support/ResetPassword

If you are having issues logging into PVCC's databases, try instead to access the Maricopa Colleges' shared library databases:

1. From our homepage:  https://www.paradisevalley.edu/library

2. Choose "Databases" from the left-hand column

3. Select "M" and click on "MCCCD Library Resources"  https://libguides.maricopa.edu/c.php?g=221835 

4.  Then click on the "Search Research Databases" tab (left-hand column)

5. Go to "See all Databases Listed by Title A-Z " located in the upper right-hand corner.

6. Locate the database you are looking for in this A to Z list of databases.

Note: These are the same library resources you see in Canvas in the left-hand column.