Core Health Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive source of scholarly full text journals for nursing & allied health--including publications of the American Nurses' Association & National League for Nursing--covering biomedicine, management, behavioral sciences, clinical trials, evidence-based practice, consumer health, and more.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Principles of Health: Nursing (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- Nursing EBooks A-Z Index (R2 Digital Library)A - Z Index of nursing terms found in all R2 Digital Library Nursing eBooks that PVCC subscribes to.
ONE Search
What is ONE Search?
The Library subscribes to over 100 databases. Each library database can be likened to a specialized online shopping site such as Famous Footwear for shoes and Ikea for furniture and home accessories. One Search is like Amazon which offers a huge variety of merchandise and merchants. It searches over 80 library databases at the same time. You can choose to search individual library databases or One Search for information. Naturally, One Search will give you many more search results from multiple library databases.
[Edit mode is disabled for mapped boxes]
To quickly and efficiently search all of the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Search library resources for articles, books, movies, and more!
Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library | ONESearch Tutorial
Core Health Videos
- Docuseek - Health and Health Care CollectionCheckout Independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films on health and healthcare issues.
- DSM-5 - Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (American Psychiatric AssociationDSM-5®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world
- DSM-5 - Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders,Video TutorialDSM-5®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world - Use this tutorial to see how it works.
- Films on Demand: Health & Medicine (Infobase)Browse the streaming media title list for Health and Medicine including diseases and disorders, anatomy and physiology, nutrition, health care and treatment, public health, health careers, surgical procedures and more.
- Films On Demand: Nursing (Infobase)Educational videos, lectures, and documentaries to help nursing students excel in their studies, pass licensure exams, and prepare them for long-term job success.
- JoVE Science Education VideosJoVE remains the first and only peer-reviewed scientific video journal, publishing more than 100 new videos each month. JoVE creates scientific videos for two unique resources: JoVE Video Journal and JoVE Science Education Library. PVCC currently subscribes to Basic Biology, Advanced Biology, Chemistry, & Environmental Sciences,
- Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCOhost)Provides information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information, videos and images to aid in patient care.