Finding Books at the Library
Search the PVCC Library book collection here or go to:
For a more focused search: Change the All fields drop-down menu to Subject or Keyword in Subject.
Encyclopedia Databases provide Background Information on any Topic
- Credo Reference: Academic Core (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
- Gale EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAcademic reference sources on a variety of topics. A great place to get background information.Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more.
- U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowDesigned to support U.S. history studies and provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
- History Reference Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFull text history reference database featuring more than 2,400 reference books, 135 leading history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, photos, maps and video.
Biographical Information on Dancers and Choreographers
- GALE IN CONTEXT: BiographyBiographical information for over 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
- Biography DatabasesSee 10 Databases found for Biography
Books/EBooks on Dance
Dance Movement Therapy: Theory, Research and Practice by Call Number: RC489.D3 D36 2006ISBN: 1583917039This thoroughly updated edition of "Dance Movement Therapy "echoes the increased world-wide interest in dance movement therapy and makes a strong contribution to the emerging awareness of the nature of embodiment in psychotherapy.
Books/eBooks search results on DanceISBN: 0000000000Publication Date: 2021-07-10Checkout all the books and ebooks on Dance we offer here at PVCC
Why Journal Articles & Databases?
Journal articles are an important part of research. Most articles also have the benefit of being peer-reviewed which means they have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication making the information checked, double-checked, and triple-checked! The result is information that you can trust!
Try these databases first:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA broad, interdisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subjects. It includes a mix of scholarly articles, popular publications, and newspaper coverage. It’s an excellent starting point for the kind of research you will need to do in college courses.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
- JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering arts, education, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Dance Periodicals
The PVCC Library has access to many magazines & Journals that are specifically on the subject of Dance. Here you can find current articles about your favorite dance genre, choregrapher or performer.
- PVCC Periodicals on DanceAmerican Journal of Dance Therapy
Dance Chronicle
Dance Magazine
Dance research
Dance research journal
Dance spirit
English Folk-Dance Society's Journal
ICHPER-SD Journal of Research in Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport & Dance
Journal of dance medicine & science
Journal of physical education, recreation & dance
Journal of the English Folk Dance and Song Society
New dance review
Performing arts & entertainment, Pointe
Videos on Dance
Check out these streaming video databases from the library to find streaming media on dance.
- Dance (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- Dance (Kanopy) This link opens in a new window
- Music & Dance (Films on Demand - Infobase) This link opens in a new window