Why Journal Articles & Databases?
Journal articles are an important part of research. Most articles also have the benefit of being peer-reviewed which means they have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication making the information checked, double-checked, and triple-checked! The result is information that you can trust!
Try these databases first:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA broad, interdisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subjects. It includes a mix of scholarly articles, popular publications, and newspaper coverage. It’s an excellent starting point for the kind of research you will need to do in college courses.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
- JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering arts, education, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Dance Periodicals
The PVCC Library has access to many magazines & Journals that are specifically on the subject of Dance. Here you can find current articles about your favorite dance genre, choregrapher or performer.
- PVCC Periodicals on DanceAmerican Journal of Dance Therapy
Dance Chronicle
Dance Magazine
Dance research
Dance research journal
Dance spirit
English Folk-Dance Society's Journal
ICHPER-SD Journal of Research in Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport & Dance
Journal of dance medicine & science
Journal of physical education, recreation & dance
Journal of the English Folk Dance and Song Society
New dance review
Performing arts & entertainment, Pointe
Street Dance Articles
Introduction: Hip Hop in History: Past, Present, and Future by This article published in The Journal of African American History, Vol. 90, No. 3, The History of Hip Hop (Summer, 2005), pp. 190-195, examines the cultural, political, economic, and intellectual aspects of Hip Hop.
Body Poetics of Hip Hop Dance Styles in Copenhagen by This article in Dance Chronicle, Vol. 24, No. 3 (2001), pp. 351-372, examines how the way we move and dance reflects the ways we experience and understand the world,
These two articles were found by creating an advanced search of hip hop and dance in JSTOR, just one of the many databases offered through PVCC. JSTOR is found alphabetically under the PVCC Databases list.