Why Journal Articles & Databases?
Journal articles are an important part of research. Most articles also have the benefit of being peer-reviewed which means they have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication making the information checked, double-checked, and triple-checked! The result is information that you can trust!
Try these databases first:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA broad, interdisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subjects. It includes a mix of scholarly articles, popular publications, and newspaper coverage. It’s an excellent starting point for the kind of research you will need to do in college courses.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
- JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering arts, education, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Ballet Articles
The Paris Opera Ballet School, 1798-1827 by This article from Dance Chronicle, Vol. 12, No. 2 (1989), pp. 196-220, gives a history lesson on the Paris Opera Ballet School.
Elizabeth West and Western Theatre Ballet by This article from Dance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Spring, 1988), tells the story of Elizabeth West and her roll in building the Western Theratre Ballet Troupe.