Using the PVCC Library Catalog
The PVCC Library holds a great collection of print books as well as DVDs and other material. You can search the PVCC Library Catalog to see what we have, or do a search right here:
To create a more focused search, change the general keyword drop-down box to subject keyword. You may also expand your search so that you search the holdings of all 10 libraries in the Maricopa Community College District. Books from our sister colleges can be sent to PVCC.
As an example, to find general materials about psychology try using terms such as:
- psychology and gender
- psychological disorders
- psychology careers
EBSCO Academic eBook Collection
The EBSCO Academic eBook Collection includes 135,000 full-text ebooks. Remember that you will need to log in with your MEID and password when you are not on campus.
Examples of books on psychology found in this collection:
Psychology Reference Books
Reference books include subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks that include succinct yet scholarly articles and entries that often serve as a good introduction to a subject or topic. Try the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) or Credo Reference database. Remember that you will need to log in with your MEID and password when you are not on campus. Titles from these two databases include:
- 21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook (in GVRL)Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of psychology. Provides material of interest for students from all corners of psychological studies, whether their interests be in the biological, cognitive, developmental, social, or clinical arenas.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology (in GVRL)Encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology. Entries provide a clear definition of topic, a brief review of theoretical basis relevant to the topic, and emphasize major areas of application.
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology (in GVRL)This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. An excellent resource for those interested in improving their awareness and comprehension of cultural practices prevalent among and between all people.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (in GVRL)This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 650 articles -- 65% of those are entirely new or updated since the last edition.
- Key Thinkers in Psychology (in Credo)The 20th Century was rich in attempts to characterize and explain psychological phenomena and so to understand the human mind. These projects were undertaken by a huge and diverse list of characters from B F Skinner to James Gibson, from Gordon Allport to Hans Eysenck.
- The Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology (in Credo)An international overview of the state of our contemporary knowledge in sociocultural psychology - as a discipline located at the crossroads between the natural and social sciences and the humanities. Since the 1980s, the field of psychology has encountered the growth of a new discipline - cultural psychology - that has built new connections between psychology, sociology, anthropology, history and semiotics. The handbook integrates contributions of sociocultural specialists from fifteen countrie
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories (in Credo)The dictionary contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
- The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology (in Credo)Now fully updated for its fourth edition, this wide-ranging and easy-to-use dictionary is invaluable for both students and professionals, and an indispensable resource to all areas of psychology and psychiatry.
- Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (in Credo)Forensic psychology has mushroomed into a diverse and increasingly complex field that is equal parts law and psychology. Psychologists act as expert witnesses in legal cases - sometimes without knowing much about the laws involved, and legal professionals rely on the assessment of psychologists sometimes without knowing much about how such assessments are made. The purpose of this handbook is to provide professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work