LibGuides: Postmodernism: Journal, Magazine, & Newspaper Articles

Periodicals

Periodicals refer to newspapers, magazines, and academic journals -- those things that are published monthly, quarterly, biannually...in other words, periodically! The PVCC Library subscribes to a special tool, Ebsco A-Z, that maps individual titles to the databases in which you will find them.

Check our Periodicals List for everything we own, both in paper and electronic format. Type the word "postmodernism" into the search box to retrieve almost 57 titles. Each title is mapped to the hyperlinked database(s) in which it is included. Simply click on the database and it will open to the specific title you are interested in searching.

Another way to approach postmodernism literature is to search in those databases that include and even specialize in it. See the box to the right for more on this.

Literature, Film and Communications Databases

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Gale Biography in Context
The Gale Biography in Context database combines nearly 414,000 biographies on more than 320,000 people from over 840 volumes of more than 135 respected Gale Group sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theater, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, and Writers Directory, with full-text articles from more than 265 magazines including American History, The Christian Century, Saturday Night, and U.S. News & World Report.

Rocko's Modern Life Parody - Rocko's Postmodern Life

"A parody of the hit cartoon series, featuring Samuel Beckett, Salman Rushdie, Kathy Acker, Vladimir Nabokov, Chuck Palahnuik, Yoko Ono, Sylvia Plath, Quentin Blake, Jack Kerouac, William S. Burroughs, Arthur Miller and many more... This Episode is titled 'Waiting for the Bigheads', in reference to Samuel Beckett's play 'Waiting for Godot'. Featuring Rocko and Heifer in the starring roles."

Open Access Journals

Critical Inquiry
"Critical Inquiry has published the best critical thought in the arts and humanities since 1974. Combining a commitment to rigorous scholarship with a vital concern for dialogue and debate, the journal presents articles by eminent critics, scholars, and artists on a wide variety of issues central to contemporary criticism and culture.

In CI new ideas and reconsideration of those traditional in criticism and culture are granted a voice."
diaCRITICS
"For over thirty years, diacritics has been an exceptional and influential forum for scholars writing on the problems of literary criticism. Each issue features articles in which contributors compare and analyze books on particular theoretical works and develop their own positions on the theses, methods, and theoretical implications of those works."
Journal of the History of Ideas
"Since its inception in 1940, the Journal of the History of Ideas has served as a medium for the publication of research in intellectual history that is of common interest to scholars and students in a wide range of fields. JHI defines intellectual history expansively and ecumenically, including the histories of philosophy, of literature and the arts, of the natural and social sciences, of religion, and of political thought."
Postmodern Culture (PMC)
"Founded in 1990 as an experiment in scholarly publishing on the Internet, Postmodern Culture has become the leading electronic journal of interdisciplinary thought on contemporary cultures ... PMC combines high scholarly standards with broad appeal for non-academic readers. As an entirely web-based journal, PMC can publish still images, sound, animation, and and full-motion video as well as text."
more...less...
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press with support from the University of California, Irvine, and the University of Virginia.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic ONEFILE
Provides millions of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's English language journals and reference sources and has extensive coverage on the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, literature, the arts, theology and other subjects, available in both PDF and HTML.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost):
4,650 scholarly titles (over 3,900 peer-reviewed). This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Date Range: 1975-current.
Opposing Viewpoints
Related to the print series in our library's collections, "Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues... (and) features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites." An excellent source to use to learn of the pro-and-con issues surrounding a topic.