LibGuides: Postmodernism: Web Sites

Evaluation Criteria

When evaluating information online or in print, don't get DUPED! Apply the criteria below and on the handout to perfect your evaluation skills.

Dated -- Is the information current and maintained?

Unambiguous --Does the information truthfully represent itself and its intentions?

Purpose --Is the purpose of the information to inform, persuade, entertain?

Expertise --Who is the author or publisher, and what are their credentials?

Determine --Does incorporating the information increase YOUR credibility as a researcher?

Postmodernism Word Cloud

by versionz (Flickr)

What is Art? A Postmodern Question

Web Sites

American Memory Project
From the Library of Congress, this site includes collections of texts of books, photographs, moving images,manuscripts, musical scores and recordings. Search for a topic of interest, or browse by collection.
Contemporary Literary Theory
A site created by Professor John Lye of Brock University.
Contemporary Postcolonial and Postimperial Literature in English
This site offers an introduction to over 100 postcolonial/postimperial authors with geographical and historical background, individual author biographies, and analysis. This site is a work in progress, created by George P. Landow, Professor of English and Art History, Brown University; Shaw Professor of English and Digital Culture (Computer Science), National University of Singapore.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)
The online source is peer-reviewed and was founded in 1995 "as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy."
The Ism Book
"The Ism Book is a field guide to philosophy that provides brief definitions of theories, doctrines, movements, and approaches in philosophy, religion, politics, science, the arts, and related disciplines. It is the longest-running dictionary of philosphy on the Internet (launched in 1996 and hosted at ismbook.com) and has been placed into the public domain by its author, Peter Saint-Andre."
Literary History
"Serves as a useful guide for readers, students and teachers of English literature. Keeps readers informed of the most innovative criticism on the web. There is a ... web index of Post-modern literature. This site is published and edited by a former indexer and abstracter of H.W. Wilson Company, Jane Pridmore, who also teaches Composition and Literature at Boston University. This site is committed to promoting the use of the internet for scholarly research in literary studies."
Literary Resources on the Net
Searchable guide to literary resources, including many critical sites.
Literary Resources on the Net - Theory
"Part of the "Literary Resources" collection maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers University, this page includes links to ECLAT (Essential Comparative Literature and Theory) site from University of Pennsylvania; the Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism; Literary Theory Project from Rice University; ..." (Click on the More Information icon for further details on this site.)
more...less...
" ... Modern Literary Theory site from University of Texas at Austin which contains information on twentieth century literary theory such as formalism, structuralism, feminism, and psychoanalysis; the Society for Critical Exchange; the Popular Culture website from Manchester Institute; UC Irvine's Wellek Library Lecture Bibliographies of works by and about major theorists; Who's Who in Theory from Southern Oregon State University; the Cultural Theory page from the English Server at CMU; various links to philosophy, postmodern thought, and cultural studies; a guide to the theory of literary genres form the University of Cologne; information on specific critical theory journals and individual theorists."
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
"A research guide to American literature from its beginnings to the 20th century. Arranged by literary periods, site includes an outline, bibliography, and study questions for each period."
The Scriptorium
The Scriptorium section of The Modern Word site is an index of experimental 20th Century writers ... "who have pushed the envelope of traditional narrative and structure. This includes many writers associated with Modernism, surrealism, “magical realism,” and postmodernism..."
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
" ... From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public."
Voice of the Shuttle (Postmodernism)
"This is a thorough bibliography boasting an exhaustive list of literary theory, literary criticism, and cultural theory links." The Postmodern page of the site (and the site offers much beyond postmodernism) provides links to a number of general theory sites (some mentioned elsewhere in this LibGuide) and to web pages on individual thinkers. NOTICE: Site contains some dead links.