Finding Articles - CRE101 - College Critical Reading and Critical Thinking - LibGuides at Paradise Valley Community College

Use OneSearch to locate articles on your Topic!

To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.

Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library | ONESearch Tutorial

Use Multidisciplinary Databases to Locate Articles

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, interdisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subjects. It includes a mix of scholarly articles, popular publications, and newspaper coverage. It’s an excellent starting point for the kind of research you will need to do in college courses.
Arizona Republic (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the major daily newspaper serving Arizona 1999-present. Includes local and regional news coverage information.
College (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Gale General Onefile This link opens in a new window
Gale's largest general-interest periodical resource allows users to find the information they want quickly, with intuitive searching that ensures they tap into quality sources.
JSTOR {ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering arts, education, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
MasterFile Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for nearly 1,700 general interest periodicals.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Library resource providing access to Provides access to more than 2300 major U.S. and international newspapers and radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text covers sociology and related disciplines, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work.
U.S. Major Dailies (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and global events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1980.

Pro & Con Databases

Arizona Republic - Use to access local Arizona issues.
CQ Researcher - Reports to Congress on issues that affect the U.S.
Issues & Controversies - Provides authoritative & comprehensive information on today's crucial topics.
News (Gale OneFile) - Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) - Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues
U.S. Major Dailies - Coverage of 4 major newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post, and other state and city newspapers.

A to Z List of Databases

A to Z List of eResources
Use this list to locate other databases that might support your research!