Business Legal Resources (Databases)
Use the following information and link to access business legal resources on your topic or case.
https://paradisevalley.libguides.com/gbs205/resources
1 - Thomson Reuters WestLaw Database - Primary Reference Resource
Thomson Reuters WestLaw - Access the largest collection of legal information, backed up by a rigorous editorial process, and access legal resources such as cases, statutes and regulations, secondary sources, practice areas, news, briefs, trial court documents, public records, expert materials, and much more. Please use the help manual located on the lower bottom of this database.
2 - Background Information Resources - Secondary Reference Sources
To obtain background information on business legal issues use these databases to access relevant information. Enter your case title!
- Oyez.org -(Not working-Use Justia U.S. Supreme Court Center)Oyez (pronounced OH-yay)—a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
- Justia U.S. Supreme Court CenterAs the highest court in the nation, the U.S. Supreme Court has shaped the rights and freedoms of Americans since the Founding. Justia provides a free collection of all U.S. Supreme Court decisions from 1791 to the present. We also offer opinion summaries, briefs, oral argument audio, and resources that provide a panoramic view of each case in its context.
- Credo Reference: Academic Core (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
- Gale EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAcademic reference sources on a variety of topics. A great place to get background information.Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more.
3 - OneSearch - Locate a secondary article sources on your cases.
To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.
Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library |
4 - Other Business Information Databases - Secondary Reference Resources
Use the following databases to research any legal, ethical, and regulatory business issues:
- Arizona Law Review This link opens in a new windowFounded in 1959, the Arizona Law Review is a general-interest academic legal journal. The Review is edited and published quarterly by students of the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law. T
- Arizona Republic (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull text of the major daily newspaper serving Arizona 1999-present. Includes local and regional news coverage information.
- Business Plans Handbook (Gale EBooks) This link opens in a new windowActual business plans compiled by and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure, and compose business plans.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and full-text articles from more than 2,200 business journals.
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowCongressional Quarterly provides in-depth unbiased reports of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowIdeal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Small Business Collection is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories.
- First Research (Mergent, Inc.) This link opens in a new windowFirst Research industry reports offer extensive industry research written from a objective business perspective to help you become a trusted industry advisor. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis on market and competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more. Many reports also include a global industry analysis.
- Legal Information Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowConsumer reference books including publisher Nolo, full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.
- Mergent Intellect (Mergent, Inc) This link opens in a new windowProvides business information on North America, over 1000 industries segments, 454 million global businesses, residential/local businesses, and executive business information.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowRegional Business News Plus is an authoritative database providing full-text regional business publications, Includes full text coverage from several hundred U.S. and International newspapers as well as regional business publications, providing more than 60 million full text articles.
- Small Business Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis database offers readers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. Business video transcripts include interviews, "lessons learned" features, lectures and how-to video transcripts to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. Videos are no longer available, only, video transcript PDFs. A renamed version of the Small Business Reference Center that is available through Explora, a research tool for schools and libraries 1-26-2025
- U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowU.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. (1980 - current)
- WESTLAW (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new windowThomson Reuters WESTLAW is the industry's most preferred online legal research service year after year. With Westlaw, you can find the legal information you are looking for quickly and confidently so you can build the strongest argument possible.
Violation Tracker Global
- Violation Tracker Global - Good Jobs FirstViolation Tracker Global is the first wide-ranging database on corporate misconduct around the world. It covers regulatory infringements committed by large companies operating in 45 countries in both the Global North and the Global South. These include offenses in categories such as competition/antitrust, consumer protection, banking, securities, bribery, money-laundering, privacy, environmental protection and labor standards.
5 - Use Business Plans Handbook to locate business plans examples.
Business Plans Handbook by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781410328205Publication Date: 2016-09-16Business Plans Handbook is a collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. For those looking for examples of how to approach, structure and compose their own business plans, the Handbook presents 20 sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries â?? only the company names and addresses have been changed. Typical business plans include type of business; statement of purpose; executive summary; business/industry description; market; product and production; management/personnel; and financial specifics. This volume also contains a business plan template and two fictional business plans â?? all of which can aid users in developing business plans of their own. Also featured is a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants; a glossary of small business terms; and an updated bibliography.
