Cognitive Behavioral Therapy
- Cognitive Behavioral Therapy - The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2016Cognitive behavioral therapy is a form of psychotherapy based on the principle that behavior, feelings, and thoughts all influence each other and that maladaptive moods and behavior can be changed by replacing distorted or inappropriate thoughts with thought patterns that are healthier and more realistic...
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781619426559Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy & Mindfulness Toolbox by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781683730682Publication Date: 2017-07-11
Psychoanalysis
- Psychoanalysis - The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2016Psychoanalysis is a method for treating mental, emotional, and behavioral dysfunctions as developed by Sigmund Freud...
Understanding Psychoanalysis by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781844651214Publication Date: 2014-08-19
Boundaries and Boundary Violations in Psychoanalysis by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781615370177Publication Date: 2016-02-16
Person-Centered Therapy
- Person-Centered Therapy - The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 2012Person-centered therapy (PCT), also known as “client-centered,” “non-directive,” or “Rogerian therapy,” is an approach to counseling and psychotherapy that places much of the responsibility for the treatment process on the “client” (the term preferred over “patient”), with the therapist taking a nondirective role. As such, psychologists and counselors use a non-directive approach to treat their clients...
Psychodynamic, Affective, and Behavioral Theories to Psychotherapy by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9780398079741Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Six Therapists and One Client: 2nd Edition by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9780826116734Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Art & Music Therapy
- Art Therapy - The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2016Art therapy involves the use of art to express feelings, emotions, and perceptions, and to facilitate healing through the creation, interpretation, and analysis of produced art, under the guidance of a trained and credentialed art therapist.
- Art Therapy - The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 2015Art therapy, sometimes called creative arts therapy or expressive arts therapy, encourages people to express and understand emotions through artistic expression and through the creative process.
- Music Therapy - The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2016A technique of complementary medicine that uses music prescribed in a skilled manner by trained therapists.
- Music Therapy - The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence, 2016Music therapy is a technique of complementary medicine that uses music prescribed in a skilled manner by trained therapists. Programs are designed to help patients overcome physical, emotional, intellectual, and social challenges.
Guidelines for Music Therapy Practice in Adult Medical Care by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781937440503Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Feders' the ART and SCIENCE of EVALUATION in the ARTS THERAPIES by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9780398088545Publication Date: 2013-01-24
Creative Arts Therapies Manual by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9780398085490Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Pharmacological Approaches to Treatment
- Pharmacological Approaches to Treatment - Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive BehaviorPharmacological agents can be used for several purposes in the treatment of drug and alcohol addiction. These include the alleviation of acute withdrawal symptoms, the prevention of relapse to drug or alcohol use, and the blocking of the euphorigenic effects of drugs of abuse. Various medications are used in the treatment of addiction to alcohol, opiates, cocaine, tobacco, and sedatives.
Pharmacotherapeutics in Medical Disorders by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9783110276367Publication Date: 2012-04-02
Drugs and the Future by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9780080467740Publication Date: 2006-12-11
Drugs for Mental Health Disorders
Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9780780812758Publication Date: 2012-11-06
Antidepressants
- Antidepressants - Merck Manual Several drug classes and drugs can be used to treat depression: Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) Serotonin modulators (5-HT 2 blockers) Serotonin- norepinephrine...
- Antidepressant Drugs - The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health Antidepressants are a group of medications used to treat clinical depression and other psychiatric disorders. They specifically act on brain chemicals called neurotransmitters, that are involved in normal brain function and can affect the physiological state of clinical depression.
Antidepressants by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781536103816Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Antidepressants Therapy and Risk of Suicide among Patients with Major Depressive Disorders by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781617283789Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Anxiolytics
- Anxiolytics and Sedatives - Merck Manual Anxiolytics and sedatives include benzodiazepines, barbiturates, and related drugs. High doses can cause stupor and respiratory depression, which is managed with intubation and mechanical ventilation. Chronic users may have a withdrawal syndrome of agitation and seizures, so dependence is managed by slow tapering with or without substitution (ie, with pentobarbital or phenobarbital).
- Anxiolytics - The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological DisordersAnxiolytics are any prescription drugs, herbs, or other therapies that are used to treat anxiety disorders. Anxiety is an emotional state in which fear dominates an individual's thoughts and life.
- How Benzodiazepines Affect Your Brain - This is Life with Lisa LingStanford psychiatrist Dr. Anna Lembke explains how a benzodiazepine affects the brain and body. Source: CNN
Benzodiazepine by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781620816424Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Antipsychotics
- Antipsychotic DrugsAntipsychotic drugs are divided into conventional antipsychotics and 2nd-generation antipsychotics (SGAs) based on their specific neurotransmitter receptor affinity and activity. SGAs may offer some advantages both in terms of modestly greater efficacy (although recent evidence casts doubt on SGAs' advantage as a class) and reduced likelihood of an involuntary movement disorder and related adverse effects.
Antipsychotic Drugs: Classification, Pharmacology and Long-term Health Effects by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781634844031Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Antipsychotic Drugs by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781621000716Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Neuroscience for Psychologists and Other Mental Health Professionals by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9780826122780Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Pillaged: Psychiatric Medications and Suicide Risk by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781611174601Publication Date: 2015-02-15
Drug Discovery for Schizophrenia by Call Number: eBook - Click on title!ISBN: 9781782620266Publication Date: 2015-05-13
