LibGuides: Science: Home

“Science and everyday life cannot and should not be separated.” — Rosalind Franklin

This guide is to assist you: 1) with the Inquiry Process, 2) in discovering the History & Nature of Science, and 3) in analyzing the personal and social perspectives as each relates to the fields of Life Science, Physical Science, Earth and Space Science.

Science Careers

Databases - Science Background Information

Credo Reference: Academic Core (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
"Is the gold standard for general reference.""Is a first-rate place to visit when students are looking for validated sources of information. Essential for all libvaries".
Gale EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR {ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window

Science Databases - Articles

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
JAMA (Journal of American Medical Association) This link opens in a new window
MasterFile Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
nature This link opens in a new window
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Health, Medicine - journals articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations
Subject Area(s):‎ Health & Medicine
Specializes on delivering focused and relevant results for the public health field, covering key subjects including:

Nutrition and Dietetics
Physical Fitness and Hygiene
Population Studies
Social Services and Welfare
Statistics
Biology - Genetics
Drug Abuse and Alcoholism
Special Education and Rehabilitation
Environmental Studies
Industrial Health and Safety
Communicable Diseases
Allergology and Immunology
Nurses and Nursing
Pediatrics
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Salem Press: Science This link opens in a new window
Science (AAAS) - (1997-Current Issue) This link opens in a new window
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scientific American (1993-current) This link opens in a new window
Scientific American Mind This link opens in a new window

Books - e-Books & Print

EBSCO eBooks Collection and GALE EBOOKS contain e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools.

The PVCC Library holds a great collection of printed books. You can search the collection right here or go to the main PVCC Library Catalog.

Magazines and Journal Titles

Science Video Streaming eResources

Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
JoVE Science Education Videos This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
National Geographic (GALE) This link opens in a new window
PBS Video Collection (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window

Science

ASK 24/7 LibChat - Welcome to LibChat!

Classes

Faculty - Information Science Division