TAI CHI - PED101TC & 102TC

Now in its eighth edition, this highly acclaimed, newly revised and expanded text continues to deliver innovative practice guidelines for evidence-based complementary and alternative therapies that can easily be incorporated into curriculum and applied directly to practice. The book describes holistic treatments that are culturally appropriate for clients across the life span and NCLEX(R)-relevant content appropriate for preparation of advanced practice nurses.

Heal yourself physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually with the ultimate guide to T'ai Chi and QiGong for beginners! T'ai Chi -- a martial art used for health, meditation, and self-defense -- and QiGong -- a large variety of physical and mental training methods based on Chinese philosophy -- are widely recognized to heal physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. T'ai Chi has demonstrated its health benefits by being linked with everything from slowing the aging process and increasing balance and flexibility to lowering stress levels and enhancing the body's natural healing powers.   In this fourth edition of The Complete Idiot's Guide® to T'ai Chi & QiGong, the authors have streamlined the book, giving it a clearer how-to focus. Nearly 150 video clips complement the 300 helpful illustrations in the book by demonstrating a complete T'ai Chi exercise -- all exclusively available to readers on the authors' website.

Conventional medical science confirms what Tai Chi masters have known for centuries- regular practice leads to longer life, more vigor and flexibility, better balance and mobility, and a sense of well-being. Cutting-edge research from Harvard Medical School now also supports the long-standing claims that Tai Chi has a beneficial impact on the health of the heart, bones, nerves and muscles, immune system, and the mind. This research also provides insight into the underlying physiological mechanisms that explain how Tai Chi works. Dr. Peter Wayne, a longtime Tai Chi teacher and a researcher at Harvard Medical School, developed the simplified program in this book, similar to protocols that have been scientifically demonstrated to work in a number of clinical trials, and which is suited to people of all ages and can be done in just a few minutes a day. The Harvard Medical School Guide to Tai Chi includes- * The basic program, illustrated by 52 halftones of the author * Practical tips for integrating Tai Chi into everyday activities * A readable introduction to the traditional principles of Tai Chi as viewed through the lens of medical science * How Tai Chi can improve work productivity, enhance creativity, and boost sports performance

After more than 50 years of teaching Tai Chi Chuan, Master Tung Kai Ying has put forth in this book the legacy of his art -- clear and deep, strong and soft, simple and profound. Invaluable for both the beginning and the experienced student alike, for those interested in the health benefits of Tai Chi and those interested in its martial aspects, these pages will continuously surprise with their spare and resonant wisdom.

This comprehensive book is the ultimate resource for the martial arts enthusiast, or for beginners to self-defence training. Many of the oldest and revered martial arts are included. Uncover the secrets and mysteries of tae kwondo, karate, aikido, ju-jitsu, judo, kung fu, t'ai chi, kendo, iaido and shinto ryu. The journey begins with an exploration of each discipline, focusing on the history, philosophy and etiquette, with practical instruction in exercises and techniques, followed by step-by-step tuition for t'ai chi and aikido, demonstrated throughout by expert practitioners. This is the definitive handbook for those interested in learning more about martial arts.

This revised edition of our best selling beginner Tai Chi Chuan book includes a new and modern easy-to-follow layout. Every tai chi movement is presented in 2-4 large photographs with clear instructions, followed by key points to help you learn properly. Simplified Tai Chi Chuan 24 Posture is one of today's most popular tai chi forms. Once learned, it can be performed in only six minutes. If you are learning tai chi in a school, a fitness club, a community or recreation center, or even the local park, this is the tai chi form you are likely to encounter. The martial arts applications for each posture are shown so you can understand that every movement has a purpose. Simplified Tai Chi Chuan 48 Posture is a popular tai chi form practiced by those who want a longer, more challenging sequence. Once learned, it can be performed in only twelve minutes. The forty-eight posture form is often the next form a student studies after learning the twenty-four posture form. Here's what is inside this book: Theory to help you understand tai chi's important tai chi concepts Warm up exercises for safe and proper tai chi practice Fundamentals so your tai chi movements will be easy and natural Foot diagrams so you will know what direction to face The complete Simplified Tai Chi Chuan 24 Posture form, step-by-step Martial applications for each movement of the 24 posture form The complete Simplified Tai Chi Chuan 48 Posture form, step-by-step No matter your age, tai chi chuan is a wonderful way to improve your health and well-being.

The host of PBS's Longevity Tai Chi and leading Western Tai Chi master Arthur Rosenfeld offers a groundbreaking guide to the myriad mental and physical benefits of this ancient martial art, including easing chronic pain and illness, dealing with stress, and resolving conflicts more easily. Are you looking to develop your mind as well as your body? look no further than tai chi.

This book provides a comprehensive guide for anyone who is interested in learning Tai Chi for the purposes of improving their general health, recuperating from surgery, recovering from an injury, managing chronic illness, or restoring their sense of balance. Tai Chi has been demonstrated to improve overall health, diminish recovery time from surgery or injury, retard the progress of degenerative diseases such as multiple sclerosis and Parkinson's disease, enhance balance, and reduce the incidence of falls in older adults.

Especially designed for learning Tai Chi at home Tai Chi in 10 Weeks is designed to guide beginning students through the fundamentals of tai chi in only ten weeks. Dr. Aihan Kuhn teaches you an easy to learn twenty-four-step Yang-style tai chi form. Tai chi is best known as a gentle full body exercise that has been proven effective for reducing stress, calming your mind, and boosting your immune system. No wonder, millions of people around the world practice tai chi for health and wellness. Dr. Aihan Kuhn is a master instructor of tai chi and qigong. In this book she shares the lessons she's learned in a lifetime of studying and teaching. She is warm and encouraging, making readers of all ages and backgrounds feel welcome. This book features: A ten-week calendar to guide you through your introduction to tai chi Over 200 beautiful full-color photos Warm, welcoming instruction from a master of tai chi and qigong With this book you will: Learn the twenty-four-step Yang-style form Understand the fundamentals of tai chi Discover not just the physical postures of tai chi, but also its psychological, emotional, and spiritual benefits "Tai chi is a life journey," Dr. Kuhn writes. "Part of my success is from my patients and students that understand that prevention requires participation. They practice tai chi and qigong on a regular basis, which is key to their health and healing. Can you really learn tai chi in 10 weeks? Yes, you can learn the fundamentals of tai chi. You can build the foundation for this life-changing journey. Tai Chi in 10 Weeks is your road map."

In order to master Taijiquan you must begin with the most fundamental steps, and systematically work up to the advanced levels, slowly building up your knowledge and technique as you go. This book explains the five levels of Taijiquan from complete beginner to highest level practitioner. Presenting a word for word translation, with commentary, of Grandmaster Chen Xiaowang's original Chinese text, Master Jan Silberstorff provides detailed guidance through each of the five levels. Readers will learn how to assess their current Taiijiquan ability and identify exactly what is needed to reach the next level and ultimately the highest goal - the perfection of Taiji, or reaching a complete state of being. This is an accessible and motivational book for all Taijiquan students and practitioners, as well as anyone wishing to gain a deeper understanding of the ancient art of Taijiquan.

Practising Taiji and Qigong is the perfect antidote to the stresses of modern life and a great way to stay healthy. Now caring professionals can help those with limited mobility to experience the benefits of Taiji and Qigong with this easy-to-follow guide. Covering everything caregivers need to know about Taiji and Qigong, this illustrated guide provides an explanatory introduction to these forms of exercises and shows how to build up a program from easy steps to more challenging ones. There are exercises to stimulate every part of the body, with variations to suit the patient's needs and preferences. All the movements are adapted from the same ancient principles guiding classic Taiji and Qigong and will help strengthen the body as well as provide contemplative relaxation. This book will show occupational therapists, physical therapists, nurses, activity directors, mental health practitioners, martial arts instructors, and anyone else working with people with physical disabilities and the elderly exactly how these simple techniques can make big improvements to a person's physical and mental wellbeing.

In Tai Chi Chuan and the Code of Life, Graham Horwood describes the various styles of Tai Chi Chuan, exploring its roots in the Chinese philosophy of Taoism as well as elaborating on the evolution it has undergone over millennia. In order to understand the energetic method of Tai Chi Chuan and Chi Kung, he highlights parallels between its source, The I Ching, and archetypal principles from both Eastern and Western philosophy and medicine. The text and diagrams show the synergy between the different cultures, and shows how they are all linked. This enables the beginner or the experienced Tai Chi practitioner to improve their understanding of Tai Chi, which will strengthen both the mind and body, opening the gateway to the inner person. Drawing on information from the Yang family's formerly secret teachings, the book explains how to build chi (energy), circulate and store it, and also includes an exclusive set of Chi Kung exercises which will augment the building, circulation and storage of chi for the healer and martial practitioner, showing the path to optimizing the practitioner's energetic and spiritual development. The exercises are accompanied by an explanation of where chi comes from and its application for the mind and body as well as the flow in the meridians. The book provides an excellent introduction to both the theory and key practices of Tai Chi Chuan for the beginner, and multi-level insights for the seasoned practitioner that will enhance his or her practice and understanding of Tai Chi Chuan.

The Sword Form is an important aspect of the popular Chinese martial art, Tàijíquan. The 32-Posture Sword Form, from the point of view of the physical movements only, is not complex, but there is a significant amount of other information, relating to the applications, that is open to interpretation. Written by an experienced teacher of Tàijíquan, this book provides a detailed description of the Jian (the sword), its parts and how it should be held. Using photographs and illustrations, the author gives step-by-step instructions for the main 13 applications including sword strokes, stances and footwork techniques. This book contains a wealth of information on Sword Form technique and is an ideal resource for students of martial arts, experienced practitioners or anyone interested in learning about Tàijíquan.

This book grew out of a question one of the author's students asked. The answer proved to be longer than either teacher or student could have anticipated. As he looks at the complex art of 'Tai Chi', the author answers questions such as why, unlike in other martial arts, 'Tai Chi' has no gradings; how hard you should try; and how to make the most of your teacher. A wide range of material is covered, including fundamental points about the mechanics of movement and the 'energetic' aspects of practice, as well as the relationship between body, mind and spirit that emerges. The author also provides answers to questions that even experienced practitioners may not have thought to ask, such as what are the levels of self-defense in 'Tai Chi'? How do I refine and develop my 'Tai Chi'? What is the difference between method and technique? How do I put principles into practice? This insightful book covers all aspects of 'Tai Chi', answering questions that are beyond the scope of many classes. It will be of interest to anyone beginning 'Tai Chi' or Qi Gong, as well as to more experienced practitioners at all levels, practitioners of other martial arts, and friends and relatives of "Tai Chi" players who wonder what all the fuss and enthusiasm is about.