Advancing American Indian Art - Heard Museum
The Heard Museum sets the standard for collaborating with American Indian artists and tribal communities to provide visitors with a distinctive perspective about the art of Native people, especially those from the Southwest.
Native American Indian Art - ARTSTOR & JSTOR
- Native American Indian Art - ARTSTORFrom the Artstor Digital Library, Institutional Collections, and Public Collections
- Native Alaskan Art - ARTSTORFrom the Artstor Digital Library, Institutional Collections, and Public Collections.
- Native American Indian Art - JSTORJSTOR articles on Native American Indian Art.
- Native Alaskan Art - JSTORJSTOR articles on Native Alaskan Art.
Native American Art and Culture (National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution)
In order to access this ArtStor collection, you must have a PVCC student id.
|
Making Medicine, Making Medicine drawing of mounted hunters pursuing a deer, having flushed a turkey and chicks from cover, 1875. National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution |
Native American Art and Culture
|
Library of Congress - Research Guides - Native American History and Culture
An overview of Prints & Photographs Division visual resources, including photographs, drawings, engravings, lithographs, posters, and architectural drawings, related to North American indigenous communities. Includes search strategies and tips.
- Native American History and Culture: Finding Pictures - IntroductionAn overview of Prints & Photographs Division visual resources, including photographs, drawings, engravings, lithographs, posters, and architectural drawings, related to North American indigenous communities. Includes search strategies and tips.
- Navajo Code Talkers: A Guide to First-Person Narratives in the Veterans History ProjectNavajo language speakers were recruited by the Marine Corps during World War II to send secret communications. This guide features a selection of oral histories available online that document the work of these veterans.
- The Yaqui: Topics in Chronicling AmericaBeginning in the early 19th century, Yaqui Indians struggled to maintain independence against Mexico which led to war. This guide provides access to materials related to the "Yaqui" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.
Infinity of Nations - Southwest - National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI)
The National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) houses one of the world’s great cultural resources, with collections representing the Native peoples of the Americas from their earliest history to the present day. Infinity of Nations presents more than two hundred of these works chosen from nearly seven hundred objects of cultural, historical, and aesthetic importance on view at the museum’s George Gustav Heye Center in New York. The objects shown here include an exquisite Olmec jade head that dates to between 900 and 600 BC; a superb Moche–Huari tunic (AD 700 to 900); an unparalleled Mexica (Aztec) sculpture of a maize goddess (ca. AD 1500); an exceptionally rare late-18th-century Anishnaabe man’s outfit, and a disquieting sculpture titled Sleeping Man by contemporary artist Bob Hauzous (Warm Springs Chiricahua Apache).
https://americanindian.si.edu/exhibitions/infinityofnations/southwest.html
Buxton Library Native American Art Collection
Counseling Faculty, Andrea Macias- Murrieta, speaks about the importance of a Kachina Doll made by artist Henry P. Shelton and the relation to the village in Oraibi where her grandfather and Shelton are both from. Featured piece Henry Shelton's "Snake Dancer and Whipper".