ASK 24/7 LibChat - Welcome to LibChat!
Faculty - Information Science Division
Country & Culture Information
Use the following databases to locate information on a particular country or culture you are interested in. Make sure to look for key information that you can use before interviewing someone from another country. See the examples presented on Hungary and the United States, below.
Info on Hungary
- Hungarian Americans - Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaHungarian Americans are immigrants or descendants of people from Hungary, a small, landlocked country in the Carpathian Basin of Central Europe. Hungary is bounded by Slovakia in the north, Ukraine in the northeast, Romania in the east, the former Yugoslavia (Serbia, Croatia, and Slovenia) in the south, and Austria in the west. Hungary's strategic location—along main land routes between western Europe and the Balkan Peninsula, as well as between the Ukraine and Mediterranean basin—has greatly influenced its history. Budapest is the country's largest city and also its capital. The total area of Hungary is 35,919 square miles (93,030 square kilometers).
- Hungary - Global Road WarriorHungary is a landlocked country in Central Europe that covers roughly 93,000 square kilometers (36,000 square miles). Hungary borders Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia and Austria and is divided by the Danube and Tisza rivers.
Info on the United States
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaThis work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish.
- United States - Global Road WarriorThe United States of America is a large country located between Canada and Mexico on the North American continent. It covers 9.8 million square kilometers (3.8 million square miles) with 19,924 km (12,380 mi) of coastline along the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. Its contiguous territory consists mostly of a vast central plain, mountains in the West, and hills and low mountains in the East. One of the two non-contiguous states, Alaska, has rugged mountains and broad river valleys, while Hawaii, also not connected to the mainland, has a rugged volcanic topography. The highest peak in the country is Mount McKinley, referred to locally as Denali, at 6,194 meters (20,320 feet) tall, while the lowest point is Death Valley, which lies 86 m (282 ft) below sea level.
EXERCISE
Global Road Warrior Exercise
Go to the Global Road Warrior database and choose three of the following info links below and locate and answer the following information and/or questions:
-
LOCATE Business Culture –
-
LOCATE and READ The Business Experience - What did you find interesting in this reading and answer why?
-
LOCATE and READ Businesswomen - What did you find interesting in this reading and answer why?
-
-
LOCATE Culture and Society and
-
READ Greetings and Courtesies and write about one of them and how it is different from your country.
-
READ Stereotypes and pick one stereotype and write about it.
-
-
LOCATE Demographics – and Total Population and see the graph - United States Ranking Compared to All Countries – Which are the top 2 countries with the most population?
-
LOCATE Education and choose Higher Education – Answer which Major University has the most students?
-
LOCATE Food Culture and choose Classic Dishes, and pick one classic dish that interests you and answer why it does.
-
LOCATE History and choose Famous People – SEE Inventors, Discoverers, & Explorers – And name one person who interests you and write why they interest you.
-
LOCATE Life Stages and choose one of the life stages and write about how it is different from your country.
-
LOCATE Music and choose Modern Forms and choose one Modern Form and write why you like it.
-
LOCATE National Symbols and choose one national flower or bird and answer the question.
-
LOCATE National Flower of your country and name it completely including the scientific name
-
LOCATE National Bird of your country and name it completely including scientific name
-