Ask 24/7 Live Chat
STEP #2
Access and evaluate career resources from the Library and Internet in order to understand the breadth and scope of information available about your top 10-20 career choices identified in:
- Step 1: Self-AssessmentFind out who you are--your strengths, interests, and values. Then map this information to those top 10 or 20 careers and occupations providing the most overlap with your strengths, interests, and values.
CAREER TRENDS
- 5 Charts Showing the Jobs of a Post-Pandemic Future – and the Skills You Need to Get ThemBy 2025, 97 million new roles may emerge that are more adapted to the new division of labor between humans, machines and algorithms.
- 12 Workplace Trends for 2022/2023: New Predictions & What Lies Beyond?In this article, we’ll discuss the modern workplace trends to help you understand the initiatives that are shifting the workplace. We’ll deliver insights that will empower you to redefine your workplace ethos and create a positive, flexible, and collaborative culture tailored to the needs of the modern worker.
- The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)’s Earnings Data by Educational AttainmentReport on the median salaries for workers age 25 and older increased markedly with the education level that they have attained.
- Digital Skills Gap and the Future of Jobs 2020 - The Fundamental Growth Mindset - WATCH!We’ve reached a tipping point in the future of jobs 2020. The digital skills gap is asking for the development of a growth mindset!
- The Top Workplace Trends For 2023Every year Forbes writers give a forecast for the top workplace trends for the upcoming year. The purpose is to help prepare organizations for the future by collecting, assessing, and reporting the trends that will most impact them.
- How Much is a Career Worth?The evidence is clear: the more you learn, the more you earn. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)’s Earnings Data by Educational Attainment (last updated for the second quarter of 2018) reports the median salaries for workers age 25 and older increased markedly with the education level that they have attained.
- Kiplinger's Careers for the Next 10 YearsIf you're employed, knowing these trends will be valuable in your strategic planning
- Kiplinger's Job Trend Predictions - 10 Best Jobs for the FutureIf you're looking for a new job or career, these trends can point to specific areas for likely job growth.
- These are the top 10 best and worst jobs for the futureUsing data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Kiplinger and economic forecasting group EMSI analyzed 785 popular US jobs. Out of that list, Kiplinger measured which will have the strongest and weakest growth rates over the next 10 years (between 2016 and 2026), what those jobs will pay and how much education they will require.
- Top Jobs and Career Trends _WorldWide LearnsUsing data compiled from the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics and from major newspapers and magazines, We've got the information you need on the major careers and trends in the job market today. It should help you choose your career education-wise.
Evaluating Career Options
- Evaluating Career Options - Video (28:34)This video illustrates how to evaluate career options based on the Three C’s: content, conditions, and compensation. It expands on the Personal Career Profile and explains how to use information gathered from occupational research. (28 minutes)
CAREER DATABASES
CAREER DATABASES
- AZCIS This link opens in a new windowAzCIS (Arizona Career Information System) is designed to provide educational, career, occupational & financial aid information to help students in making better-informed career and school choices. (Contact Library 602-787-7215 or Counseling for user name & password):
- Choices Explorer This link opens in a new windowAn online education and career exploration system. Gives up-to-date information on careers, including job profiles and labor market articles. Includes career interview videos in both English & Spanish.
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowCurrent information on career fields, needed skills and professional resources.This database provides job profiles, salary ranges, education/training, industry & job outlook, employer profiles, job postings, & videos.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and full-text articles from more than 2,200 business journals.
- First Research This link opens in a new windowFirst Research industry reports offer extensive industry research written from a objective business perspective to help you become a trusted industry advisor. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis on market and competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more. Many reports also include a global industry analysis.
- Reference Solutions (Data Axle) - Was ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new windowData Axle is an industry leader in business and consumer information. Reference Solutions, founded as ReferenceUSA in 1992, is an online tool to give library patrons and business owners access to data on over 17 million businesses and 320 million consumers. Reference Solutions eliminates the need to scour multiple websites or perform complicated searches—in fact, we provide information to the top five search engines. We do it all—collecting and verifying the most accurate and up-to-date research data available. Our database brings information directly to students.
BUSINESS DATABASES
- A-Z Databases: Business / EconomicsFind the best library business databases for your research.
CAREER MAGAZINES
- Career College Central MagazineCareer College Central - Published six times per year, Career College Central magazine delves into the most timely, vital issues affecting the sector and its students. Whether you’re interested in advertising, subscribing, or searching for a digital copy of an article to forward to a colleague, you can find the information you’re looking for on CareerCollegeCentral.com.
- Careers and CollegesDesigned to help high school juniors and seniors set and meet their academic, career & financial goals.
- Phoenix Business Journal & Book of ListsFind the latest breaking Phoenix business news, updated throughout the day, some of this week's top stories from Phoenix Business Journal, and other popular features from the print edition. The latest copy of Phoenix business news & the famous Book of Lists is located in the PVCC's Library's Career & College Resources section on the middle shelf, HF5068.P56 B56 (latest year).
Books/e-Books on Careers
Use the following keyword phrases to search for your career in the library catalog (Books of More) for example - "career guide" AND nursing OR "jobs in" AND "health sciences"
BOOKS
E-BOOKS
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)Locate information on any career or career topic. Type career you are looking for.
Salem Press eBooks
Career Resources for Minorities
WEBSITES
Featured Career Websites:
- Occupational Outlook HandbookDescribes work, working conditions, education, earnings, and prospects
- O'NET On-LineTool for career exploration and job analysis!
- My Next MoveAn interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options
- mySkills myFutureHelps laid-off workers and other career changers find new occupations, which may require similar skills & knowledge.
Career and Employment Websites:
- Arizona Career Information System(AZCIS) (Contact PVCC Counseling for signon information)
- FastCompanyThe Top 10 Jobs for 2018