A. Marketing
11. Discuss international marketing considerations regarding product, promotion, pricing, branding and distribution. (V)
The International Export/Import Marketing Plan - Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Global Business Law by
The Gale Business Insights Handbook Of Global Business Law examines the questions What are the differences between private and public international law? What are fair trade practices? and What are some of the risks of managing a multinational business? Entries examine such topics as: current information on international trade laws; importing and exporting abroad; trade balance and what that means for the global economy; international shipping and customs; trade barriers; doing business in a foreign country; and more. The Need for an International Marketing Plan.
Promotions of all kinds, such as discounts, advertising, improved customer service, and public relations, are implemented with the goal of increasing sales and the company's number of loyal customers. A well-crafted marketing plan can help the company achieve these goals, particularly if a company is planning to explore the importing and exporting business.
Call Number: eBOOKISBN: 9781414499260Publication Date: 2013-05-28
Marketing to a Global Segment - Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Social Media Marketing by
The Gale Business Insights Handbook Of Social Media Marketing examines the questions What is social media marketing and How can it be used in my business? This volume focuses on building an internal business case for using social media, highlighting its importance, the benefits it can provide, and how to implement a successful strategy and measure its effectiveness. Entries examine such topics as the types of social media and their followers; how to increase discoverability; and how to define and protect your brand; legal challenges with social media, and more. Companies entering the global social media arena must deal with varying languages, different time zones, cultural differences, and unfamiliar markets (The Global Social Media Challenge, 2011). Social media allows consumers around the globe to comment, promote, or destroy a company's brand. A social media faux pas can have a huge effect in a short span of time, so a company's management of its social networks in an efficient and effective manner is key.
Call Number: eBOOKISBN: 9781414499314Publication Date: 2013-04-10
B. Sourcing Strategies
|
12. |
Explain outsourcing, purchasing and supplier relations issues encountered in international business. (V) |
Encyclopedia of Global Brands by
From Timex to Rolex and from Levi's to Liz Clairborne, brand names conjure up definite images in the minds of most Americans. While brand loyalty may be going the way of the Edsel, the importance of product brands can't be easily dismissed. The 3-vol. Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands is the first reference of its kind to compile the origin, evolution and current market status of some of the world's most recognizable consumer brands. It's unrivaled comprehensive scope and generous article length make it a valuable reference for students, librarians, job seekers, advertising and business professionals and other researchers who want to learn about the historical and modern development of products that have impacted American culture. Each volume of the Encyclopedia contains approximately 200 entries, written in case-study style, that highlight interesting details including how a product originated and was first marketed, how it developed commercially and how it fares today compared with its competitors and its own past history. Peppered throughout are fun facts and amusing anecdotes pertaining to the famous -- or infamous -- marketing strategies and advertising campaigns that managed to capture the sometimes jaded viewers' attention. Special features found throughout the Encyclopedia strengthen its usefulness. Look for helpful at-a-glance data boxes offering vital statistics including market share, major competitors, advertising agencies, parent company, address, phone and fax numbers. Researchers needing supplemental information can turn to the end of each entry for sources for further reading. Easy-to-use brand name, company and persons, advertising agency and category indexes allow users to quickly locate and cross-reference brand information.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781558622272Publication Date: 2013-06-11
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies - Vol. 4 by
This title provides international coverage through essays on some of the top recent global and emerging brands. Essays are aligned to the strategic marketing framework, ensuring that the marketing strategies covered can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples often described as “war stories” by professors.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781410389336Publication Date: 2019
Global Sourcing - Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by
There is currently no comprehensive reference work bringing both sports management and sports marketing all together in one place. This encyclopedia is designed to fill this gap in the literature. On the management side, it introduces principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance, leadership, governance, communication, business law and ethics, and human resource practices, all in the sports context. On the marketing side it explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and sport-related products and using sport as a platform for marketing non-sports products, as seen in celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament. In the manufacturing industry, sourcing decisions refer to decisions about whether to make or buy the component parts that comprise the final product. If a firm decides to make the component parts, the firm will have its own plants and vertically integrate into the manufacture of the firm’s own component parts. If a firm decides to buy the component parts, the firm would outsource the production of the component parts to independent suppliers and then buy the component parts from the suppliers. The make-or-buy decision is important in a firm’s manufacturing strategy because the decision will influence plant investment, product cost, flexibility of supply sources, and proprietary product technology protection.
Call Number: EBookISBN: 9781412973823Publication Date: 2011-08-08
Market Entry Strategies - Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Global Marketing by
The Gale Business Insights Handbook Of Global Marketing examines the questions How can a business measure the cost effectiveness of expanding globally How do you build and manage an international brand? and How can I identify new product opportunities in emerging markets? Entries examine such topics as: The 4 P's (Product, Price, Placement, Promotion) and how the mix differs when you're going global; research strategies for finding actionable intelligence; understanding other business environments; segmenting markets on a global scale; the merits and drawbacks to standardization; and more. Market Entry Strategies
An organization wishing to enter an international market faces three major issues. The first issue involves marketing. To which segments and which countries will the organization export? How will investors manage and implement the marketing effort? Which strategy will they use to enter the market? Will they enter directly or employ intermediaries? Which sources of information will they draw on?
The second issue when an organization decides to go global is sourcing. Where and how will it obtain its products? Will the organization manufacture its products or purchase them?
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781414499284Publication Date: 2013-05-08
- Problems and Challenges with Global Sourcinig: A Study of Chinese Manufacturing Enterprises - August 2009 The purpose of this master thesis is to analyze what problems and challenges Chinese manufacturing companies face in the implementation of a global sourcing strategy Master thesis within BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION Authors: CHUNNAN JIANG YUE TIAN Tutors: SUSANNE HERTZ LIANGUANG CUI Jönköping AUGUST 2009
- From Domestic to International to Global Sourcing: An Alignment Issue The core of the article illustrates the disconnect that exist internally in multinational corporations between top management and purchasing managers in the area of sourcing, especially international and global sourcing. There is a misalignment here that needs to be carefully worked out to leverage strategic sourcing the best possible way in corporations. This article is based on material developed for one of the sections of the 2014 business trade book titled Global Supply Chain Management: Leveraging Processes, Measurements, and Tools for Strategic Corporate Advantage, authored by Tomas Hult, David Closs, and David Frayer.
Marketing Internationally Videos
- 1. Global Branding: Business Without Borders (10:06)Effective global branding requires a sound understanding of different international markets, and how products or services themselves, and the language and imagery used in their promotion, best suits consumers. In this interview-led program, Kathleen Griffiths from RMIT and Simon Kanat from Ted Baker Down under cover some important global branding considerations and provide examples of companies who have done it both effectively, and poorly.
- 2. Researching Global Markets: Business Without Borders (09:42)Your product is set to go worldwide, but what if it doesn’t have global appeal? Going global in business requires thorough research into demographics, culture and religion, politics, economics and law to identify viable international markets and suitable marketing strategies. In this program, experts Kathleen Griffiths (RMIT) and Simon Kanat (Ted Baker Downunder) explore key areas to consider when identifying global markets.
- 3. Selling Products Globally: Business Without Borders (09:41)Global brands – they might be the same wherever you go, or they might be different. They might also vary considerably in price and how they’re positioned from country to country. Experts Kathleen Griffiths (RMIT) and Simon Kanat (Ted Baker Downunder) provide insights into different factors that determine products, their pricing and positioning in global markets.
C. Human Resources
|
13. |
Evaluate the issues that occur when managers are transferred internationally. (V) |
- Current Issues in the Expatriate Management Current ideas and research on the management of expatriates are explored through simple questions that are presented in this paper. Several important environ-mental influences affecting management have emerged from the current literature. These influences include tax matters, health and medical issues, risk management, economic issues, and culture. The outcomes of expatriate management are also briefly explored. A checklist for practitioners is offered so they can assess their current expatriate management practices.
- Ten Steps to a Global Human Resources Strategy Creating an effective global work force means knowing when to use "expats," when to hire "locals" and how to create that new class of employees -- the "glopats."
- Management Fraud in China. Discusses management fraud, a problem facing foreign businesses in China. Causes of the problem; Forms of management fraud in China; Provisions of the Criminal Code which target official corruption; Civil remedies; Suggested steps for foreign investors to mitigate the risk of management fraud in their China operations; Effective and appropriate way to deal with fraud.
- BUILDING TEAMS FOR GLOBAL OPERATIONS. Focuses on the efforts of business enterprises in the U.S. to ready their organizations for globalization. Role of international teams and the development of networked global organization; Dynamic relationship between of headquarters and subsidiaries; Communication flow between headquarters and subsidiaries.
- When Bad Things Happen to Good Businesses In the United States and Canada, businesses face a type of legal responsibility known as civil liability, which has evolved from case decisions over the years. According to its general principles, an employer has a duty to avoid anything that increases the risk of an accident or wrongful act on company property.
- The Role of the Manager in the Middle East An Empirical Study of Multinational Companies This article discusses relevant issues relating to international staffing policy and the manager role in a host country.
International Human Resource Management Question/Answer Bank
Global Market Planning - Core Principles of International Marketing
- 6.1 Measuring Market Attractiveness After reading this section, students should be able to - understand the key factors in selecting global markets - appreciate the importance of cultural, administrative, geographic, and economic distance in estimating a market’s attractiveness
- 6.2 Global Market Opportunity Assessment – PESTEL Analysis After reading this section, students should be able to - Know the components of PESTEL analysis. Recognize how PESTEL is related to the dimensions of globalization. - Understand why importing might be a stealth form of international entry.
- 6.3 Global Market Opportunity Assessment – CAGE Analysis After reading this section, students should be able to - know the components of the CAGE analysis. - explain the three strategies for handling institutional voids
- 6.4 Global Market Opportunity Assessment – Scenario Planning and Analysis After reading this section, students should be able to - understand the history and role of scenario planning and analysis. - explain the six steps of scenario planning and analysis.- map scenarios in a two-by-two matrix.
- 6.5 Selecting the Countries to Enter After reading this section, students should be able to - conduct a preliminary screening to select countries to enter - conduct a Country Attractiveness Analysis to select countries to enter make the final selection of countries to enter
- 6.6 Global Market Segmentation After reading this section, students should be able to - 1. outline the ways in which markets are segmented.- 2. explain why marketers use some segmentation bases versus others.
- 6.7 Using Demographics to Guide Global Marketing Strategy After reading this section, students should be able to - list the demographic variables to consider for global marketing - identify the problems in demographic profiling in global markets
- 6.8 Target Market Selection After reading this section, students should be able to - explain the principles behind target market selection - list the options available for target selection in global markets
- 6.9 Global Positioning After reading this section, students should be able to - 1. explain why positioning is an important element when it comes to targeting consumers.- 2. describe how a product can be positioned and mapped. 3. explain what repositioning is designed is to do.
- 6.10 Basics of Positioning After reading this section, students should be able to - identify the options for positioning in global markets - effectively approach the challenges in global positioning
Trade & Market Intelligence
- International Trade Centre ToolsBuilding trade-led growth for a more equitable world. Our support for micro, small and medium-sized businesses’ ability to compete can lift individuals, communities and countries out of poverty and create a more equitable world. ITC offers a range of online tools to make global trade more transparent and facilitate access to markets. These tools will help you identify export and import opportunities, compare market-access requirements, monitor national trade performance, and make well informed trade decisions.