Reserve books - Diet and Nutrition
Understanding Normal and Clinical Nutrition ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9781285458762Integrates practical information and valuable resources to help students apply nutrition knowledge and skills to their daily lives and in the clinical setting.
Nutrition: Your Life Science ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9781305112575Helps students understand the fundamental principles of nutritional science through an interactive and flexible learning experience.
Understanding Nutrition ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9781285874364Uses an integrated pedagogical approach with an emphasis on active learning, assignable content, and integrated resources.
Nutrition for Life ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9780321774354Demonstrates how nutrition relates directly to students' health and daily lives.
ServSafe Manager ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9781582802992Helps students prepare for the ServSafe Food Protection Manager Certification Exam and promotes adherence to food safety practices on the job.
The Profession of Dietetics: A Team Approach ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9781449678388Offers students a complete toolbox of resources for beginning a career in nutrition and dietetics.
Nutrition for Sport and Exercise ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9781285752495Integrates nutrition and exercise physiology principles, emphasizing scientific reasoning and examining research studies to illuminate the evidence for current nutritional recommendations.
Management Practice in Dietetics ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9781626614062Deals with management in all areas of dietetics and provides clear, relevant examples of management principles and the ways they can be applied.
Foodservice Management ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9780135122167Covers all core topics, including food safety, organizational design, human resources, performance improvement, finance, equipment, design, layout, and marketing.
Specialized Diets
- Cardiac: Low Fat / Salt Modified / Fluid Controlled
- Respiratory: Small Frequent Meals / High Calorie / High Protein
- Cancer/Immune: Neutropenic Diet
- Endocrine: Diabetic Diet / Calorie Controlled Diet
- Renal: Salt Modified / Protein Modified
- GI: High or Low Fiber / Low Irritant
Patient guidance, including recipes
These books in the PVCC library address clinical nutrition in the context of various diseases and disorders, including cardiovascular, respiratory, cancer, endocrine, renal, and gastrointestinal. They include suggestions for helping patients develop dietary habits to support their treatments:
Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process ~[172]~
A trusted classic for over 50 years, Krause''s Food and the Nutrition Care Process, 14th Edition presents the most cutting-edge and up-to-date dietetics content available in this ever-changing field.
~[134]~: RM216 .M285 2017~[135]~: 9780323340755
Manual of Nutritional Therapeutics ~[172]~
Optimize your patients' nutrition! Coauthored by three physicians and a dietitian, this quick-reference manual provides practical, state-of-the-art, evidence-based nutrition recommendations for healthy adults, hospitalized patients, and people with a full range of health conditions.
~[134]~: RM217.2 .A47 2015~[135]~: 9781451191875
Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice ~[172]~
A strong foundation in nutrition is essential for effective nursing practice. Reflecting the latest evidence-based practice and nutrition recommendations, this eighth edition of Susan Dudek's highly respected text maintains its focus on all steps of the nursing care process, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation.
~[134]~: RM216 .D8627 2018~[135]~: 9781496356109
Clinical Nutrition in Practice ~[172]~
An easy-to-use book with questions on clinical nutrition clearly posed and answers based on real-life studies, this is a ready reference for the busy healthcare professional.
~[134]~: RM217 .C65 2010~[135]~: 9781405180849
Medical Nutrition and Disease ~[172]~
Written for medical, nursing and physician assistant students, residents, dietetic interns, and health professionals in practice, Medical Nutrition and Disease: A Case-Based Approach, 4th Edition, is a practical guide to the role of nutrition in everyday clinical practice.
~[134]~: RM216 .M456 2009~[135]~: 9781405186155
Websites of interest -- several include suggestions for recipes:
- Eating After Your Heart Surgeryfrom the University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics
- Nutrition and COPDfrom Today's Dietitian Magazine
- The Neutropenic Dietfrom the University of Mississippi Medical Center
- Low Microbial Diet Guidelinesfrom the UC San Diego Health System
- Diet Guidelines for Immunosuppressed Patientsfrom The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
- Diabetic Dietfrom the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Diet: Chronic Kidney Diseasefrom the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Nutritionfrom the National Kidney Foundation
- Irritable Bowel Syndrome Dietfrom the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Research articles
The library also provides on- and off-campus access to health and medical databases, including the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) and the Nursing Reference Center. Search CINAHL Complete for articles relating to research and practice in nursing:
- Start at the library's home page:
- Click on the link to Databases on the left side of the page
- Click on C under A - Z Databases
- And select CINAHL Complete or another related database
CINAHL and the other databases consist of very large collections of articles from professional and scientific journals and magazines. You can search for articles via keyword or key phrase, or via predefined subject terms (a librarian can help with this). In many cases the complete article (full text) will be immediately available to you online.
For articles on specialized diets in the context of nursing, try CINAHL, using the subject (SU) terms diet therapy or nutrition along with the name of the disease or disorder of interest. Here is an example:
More Sources on Nutrition & Diabetics
- Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCOhost) ~[392]~Provides information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information, videos and images to aid in patient care.
- Alt HealthWatch (EBSCOhost) ~[392]~Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- ConsumerLab ~[392]~ConsumerLab is the leading provider of independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals identify the best quality health and nutrition products.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost) ~[392]~Provides access to consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets, and health reference books.
- Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics,The (American Dietetic Association) ~[392]~The premier source for the practice and science of food, nutrition, and dietetics. The monthly, peer-reviewed journal is the most widely read professional publication in the field.
- Natural Medicines ~[392]~Natural Medicines contains over 1200 monographs on natural ingredients, including vitamins, herbs, minerals, non-herbal supplements, naturally sourced chemical compounds, and foods.