ENG102 - First-Year Composition

To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.

Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library | 

Locate Background Information on your topic by using these databases:

Locate an encyclopedia or reference article on your topic. Reading a broad summary gives you an overview of the topic and shows how your idea relates to broader, narrower, and related issues.. 

CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. You are presented with an introductory overview of your topic, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment  of the current situation: tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Brief overview of how to search CQ Researcher, a collection of informational reports available via the LLCC Library's website.Courtesy of Lincoln Land Community College Library

NOTE: In order to locate references used to write these articles please look for footnotes and/or bibliography.  The footnotes and bibliography are usually located at the end of the report.

Find articles in the library databases.  The PVCC Library pays to have access to these databases and the newspaper, magazine, and journal articles they contain. PVCC MEID & password required for access.

Is a trade journal article an academic article?

Not quite! While both academic articles and trade journal articles are written for professional audiences, there are key differences:

• Academic Articles – These are published in scholarly journals and typically undergo peer review. They present original research, theories, or extensive analysis, often written by experts or researchers in the field. They follow strict citation and formatting guidelines and aim to contribute to academic knowledge.

• Trade Journal Articles – These appear in industry-specific publications aimed at professionals. They focus on trends, best practices, or industry news rather than original research. While written by experts, they are less formal and do not usually go through peer review.

If you need a source for academic research, peer-reviewed articles are best. But if you're looking for industry insights, trade journals can be valuable.