Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and are often peer-reviewed, meaning they have been checked for accuracy and reliability by other experts. You can find them in databases like OneSearch, PubMed, JSTOR, and Google Scholar.
How to Identify Journal Articles
OneSearch
To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.
Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library |
Peer Reviewed Article Databases
Find articles in the library databases. The PVCC Library pays to have access to these databases and the newspaper, magazine, and journal articles they contain. PVCC MEID & password required for access.
- A-Z Databases: Peer ReviewedUse these databases to find Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed articles.
To find a Peer-Reviewed database use the "All Database Types" dropdown menu on the A-Z
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources. Some full-text articles are provided for free by the publisher but most are pay-per-view and require a subscription for access. Set your Google Scholar Library Links to Paradise Valley Community College to get links to articles located in PVCC Library databases.
- Select Google Scholar drop down menu
- Select settings icon
- Type Paradise Valley Community College into "Show library access links" search box.
- Select the Paradise Valley Community College Full-Text options.
