John Stossel's Both Sides of the Issue
- John Stossel's Both Sides of the IssueWelcome to our Both Sides of the Issue Series! We created this series to help teachers present balanced lessons on topics that John Stossel addresses. Each month, we pair two of John’s videos with videos representing opposing arguments. Our goal is to provide teachers and students with different viewpoints and encourage open discussion and critical thinking. Every Both Sides of the Issue pairing includes discussion questions, so it’s never been easier to get the conversation started. Special Note: We are aware that on many issues, there are many sides, not just two. We call it “Both Sides” for simplicity and to spark discourse. Help develop critical skills by exploring additional sides in your discussions.
Having Trouble Deciding What to Write About?
Try these library databases and online news sites for possible research topics:
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowCheck the homepage for timely topics. Select "Browse Topics" to search for topics by subject interest.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across all academic disciplines. Use the "Topic Finder" tool to find topics and keywords. Provides visual connections between subjects and search terms.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowSelect "Browse Issues" to see a list of current popular topics.
- ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
- Google NewsComprehensive up-to-date news coverage, aggregated from sources all over the world. See topics that are currently being discussed.
- ProCon - BritannicaProCon is a leading nonpartisan site for learning the top arguments behind debatable issues of the day.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- New York Times OnlineAll PVCC students, faculty and staff now have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, thanks to the PVCC Buxton library college-wide subscription.We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your educational experience.
- PEW TopicsChoose from Health, Communities, Finance & Economy, Conservation, Trends, and Governing topics.
- Reuters Top NewsTop and breaking news, pictures, and videos from around the world.
Read Background Information
Read an encyclopedia article on the top two or three topics your are considering. Reading a broad summary gives you an overview of the topic and shows how your idea relates to broader, narrower, and related issues..
- Gale EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAcademic reference sources on a variety of topics. A great place to get background information.Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more.
- Credo Reference: Academic Core (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
When You Need a Research Topic Use GALE IN CONTEXT databases
Answer the Public - a source for developing your thesis statement or research question
- Answer the PublicThere are 3 billion Google searches every day, and 20% of those have never been seen before. They’re like a direct line to your customers’ thoughts Sometimes that’s ‘How do I remove paper jam’. Other times it’s the wrenching fears and secret hankerings they’d only ever dare share with Google.
