Streaming Video
The PVCC Library Streaming Videos collection provides instant access to educational videos, documentaries, and movies. Titles from these collections can be shown in the classroom, embedded within a course, viewed at home, or on the go. All streaming videos in the Library's media collection are purchased or licensed content. PVCC MEID & password required for access.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowWatch over 30000 Documentaries, Classic, and Indie Films. Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that provides access to over 30,000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films from 800 top producers such as Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, and The Great Courses.
- Films On Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowOver 42,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas.
Images
Images, like other documents, can be scholarly or not. Here is what makes an image scholarly:
-
Do you know where the image comes from
-
Do you know who owns it
-
Do you know its original
Though Google Image Search is the easiest way to find a broad group of images, it’s also the riskiest. The images that people use on commercial websites or blogs are frequently altered, have no clear ownership, or are of poor quality. It’s often impossible to know if they’re legitimate or who you can go to for permissions.
Use the PVCC Library image databases to get authentic images with citations.
Image Collection (EBSCOHost) - Multidisciplinary Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
- ARTstor {ITHAKA) This link opens in a new windowArtstor provides faculty and students with a complete image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline. With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.See collections - https://www.artstor.org/collections/