The Latino Americans - Films on Demand
This film covers conflicts between the British and Spanish colonial systems as Manifest Destiny pushed the U.S into the Mexican territories of the South West, and the Mexican American War. By exploring the Spanish Mission System, California rancheros, the Gold Rush, and Las Gorras Blancas (The White Caps), learn how conquest, shifting borders and dispossession shaped Hispano culture and identity in former Mexican territories of the Southwestern United States. Part of PBS series The Latino Americans. (52 minutes)
Hispanic/Latino History in the U.S.
- Chicano! History of the Mexican-American Civil Rights MovementThis four part landmark documentary series now a classic for Mexican American history of the U.S., chronicles the struggle for equality and social justice of the Mexican American community in the United States from 1965 to 1975. Produced from Austin Texas by Galan Productions, Inc. It features the Chicano land struggle, Cesar Chavez and the UFW, the Los Angeles High School Walk-outs and the creation of the political party La Raza Unida.
- Discover Latino History & The Latino Influence On the United StatesUncover the countless ways in which Central and South American civilizations have influenced the U.S. From language to medicine, from food to manufacturing, develop a strong understanding of these influential and ancient civilizations. Learn about the idea of "Manifest Destiny," discover Puerto Rico's quest for independence and find out how the "Little War" effected Mexico.
- Latinos Beyond Reel - Challenging a Media StereotypeA comment from a viewer - This film depicts a well-known reality but falls short otherwise. “OK, this sort of shit happens," I would tell my people, but, in history, there has never been a leveled playfield for everyone. That simply means that we are in a disadvantage now and we must work twice as hard (and we are!). We need not only to gain command of the English language but to excel at it, preferably preserving an impeccable Spanish/ Portuguese/French fluency; either one of these two accomplishments would put you ahead of most Americans. Polish your education and take good care of yourself, then a brown face will make you even more attractive; else why are there so many tanning parlors? Ignorance and poverty have never been welcome, but a cultured mind and affluence will open most doors; the color most people seem to like is that of the greenback. If even PBS ignores us, who cares, we are here to stay and the odds are in our favor. Even discounting further immigration, our demography is positioned to win. We are young, we are fertile, and, even more, when we take care of ourselves, we live longer (if you do not believe me, read about the Hispanic paradox). The future belongs to us!
Arizona History: A Chicano Perspective
This three-part program from ASU's PRISM Collections traces Chicano heritage and influence in Arizona's history between the 1600s and the 1950s. It begins with a consideration of Mexican immigrants' role in pioneering Arizona's first non-Indigenous settlements, discusses these settlers' conflicts with Indigenous peoples and Anglo settlers, recounts Mexican-American contributions to Arizona's economic growth, chronicles rising racism towards, discrimination against, and segregation of Mexican-Americans, and finally studies Mexican-American work to secure equal rights.
ASU's PRISM Chicano/a Research Collection - Arizona History: A Chicano Perspective
Chicano/a Research Collection - ASU PRISM
- Chicano/a Research CollectionThis collection highlights photographs from the Chicano/a Research Collection. Collections are added as permissions are secured, and resources for digitization become available.
AZ Barrio Stories
Organization dedicated to recording Chicano/Mexican History, Collect Data & Stories about our vanishing barrios. Share stories about generations of families who grew up in our barrios. Record & share stories about landmarks, cultural centers, churches.
Latin@ Audio and Video
- Anthony Acevedo donates artifacts to the Holocaust Museum (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum on Facebook)
- The Art of Power: Royal Armor and Portraits from Imperial Spain (National Gallery of Art)
- An Examination of Hispanic and Latino History (National Archives YouTube Channel)
- La Quinceanera: A Coming of Age Ritual in Latino Communities (Library of Congress)
- Latino Americans – PBS Documentary (supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities)
- Mexicans and Americans: Cracking the Cultural Code (Library of Congress)
- Nation and Citizen in the Dominican Republic, 1880-1916 (Library of Congress)
- Professor Ilan Stavans, Professor of Latin American and Latino Culture, Amherst College (Holocaust Memorial Museum)
- Re-thinking Conquest: Spanish and Native Experiences in the Americas (Library of Congress)
- The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures (Library of Congress)
- StoryCorps Historias
StoryCorps Historias is a project to record the diverse stories and life experiences of Latinos in the United States. StoryCorps is a project of Sound Portraits Productions, in partnership with National Public Radio and the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.
From: https://www.hispanicheritagemonth.gov/audio-and-video/