LibGuides: Hispanic Heritage Month: Research Resources

Please use the following resources for doing your research. If you need any help please use our use our Ask a Librarian 24/7 services.

Use OneSearch to locate books, ebooks, & articles for your research.

To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.

Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library | ONESearch Tutorial

Ebooks on Hispanic / Latine

eBooks on Hispanic* OR Latin*

Books @ the Library

Find Articles

Ebook Databases

PVCC Library subscribes to various e-book collections to help with your research needs. eBooks are available on-line 24/7 through the Library website and databases. Please check out the following ebook databases:

Academic eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
More than 135,000 eBooks representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Credo Reference: Academic Core (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
"Is the gold standard for general reference.""Is a first-rate place to visit when students are looking for validated sources of information. Essential for all libvaries".
Gale EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic reference sources on a variety of topics. A great place to get background information.Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering arts, education, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly ebooks in multiple subjects from world-renowned publishers
Psychiatry Online - DSM-5-TR Library (American Psychiatric Association) This link opens in a new window
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the 2013 update to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the taxonomic and diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association. In 2022, a revised version was published.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
Reference eBooks covering topics in literature, history, science and health, biographies, careers. Several subject-specific encyclopedias included. Citations provided.

Databases on Hispanic/Latine Culture

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (Gale EBooks) This link opens in a new window
This work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
History and culture of Latinos in the United States. Includes ready-reference sources, full-text titles, photographs, primary sources, and links to important web sites.
Documents the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States. Their stories are detailed through a robust collection of primary and secondary sources, beginning with pre-16th century Mayan, Incan, and Aztec empires and continuing through to the present day, with treatment also given to cultural themes including coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. On the controversial issues shaping the modern Latino American experience—such as immigration reform, media portrayals, and voting access and influence.
Multicultural Studies (Gale EBooks) This link opens in a new window
Reference ebooks covering multicultural studies.

Videos on Hispanics / Latinos

Research Guides, Other

Afro-Latino Americans
Afro-Latino identity is a distinct one, with deep roots in colonial Latin America. It can often exist alongside a person’s Hispanic, racial or national origin identities. The life experiences of Afro-Latinos are shaped by race, skin tone and other factors, in ways that differ from other Hispanics.
Research Guides - Library of Congress
Research guides focused on those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain, and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinx communities in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.