Develop a business plan using the resources located here!
Helpful Links
- US Small Business AdministrationStart-up FAQs, kits, information on government loans and locations of local SBA centers.
- Entrepreneur.com Starting a BusinessCurrent, helpful info from Entrepreneur magazine, including how to write a business plan, obtain financing, etc.
- SCORE: Small Business Mentoring and TrainingBusiness advice from the Service Corps of Retired Executives. Includes online workshops and seminars, as well as a zip-code locator for a mentor in your area.
- Startup Nation: Source for Small Business AdviceGreat resource for entrepreneurs, includes community space, articles, podcasts, online seminars and other information on all things small business.
Demographic Info
Find out who lives in your target area:
Go to the Census Bureau and look at the right column under “Population Finder” and enter zip code. On the new page, click on “Fact Sheet” for more demographics.
Use American Community Survey to view estimates or projections since the last census.
Click on “Data Profiles,” then limit by geographical area (e.g. Metropolitan Statistical Area). Search under subject tables if you want to narrow by a specific subject.
Sample Business Plans
|
|
This book contains actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. It presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans. (Click on book cover to access!) |
Below are additional resources:
- How to Write a Business Plan - SBA Learning Center - Video - 30:00 mins.
- Build your Business Plan - SBA - SBA's Business Plan Tool
- Bplans.com - Free sample business plans. This site contains sample business and marketing plans as well as articles related to starting a business.
- Small Business Reference Center - Click on Start-up Kit and Business Plans
- How to Write a Business Plan - Discover Business
Planning Your Startup Team
- Don't Underestimate the Value of Chemistry in Startup TeamsFind the right mix of people and they will carry your startup to the top.
Creating a Successful Business Plan - Entrepreneur Magazine
- Creating a Successful Business Plan - Entrepreneur MagazineThis downloadable startup guide represents hundreds of hours of interviews and research performed by our expert business staff. Inside you’ll find practical, step-by-step advice that clearly outlines the basic components of developing a successful business.
Business Planning Video
Library Databases - Use them to obtain information on your business for your plan.
Small Business Reference Center: an excellent resource for small business owners, access to legal forms, sample business plans, state specific demographic information, advice on managing employees, understanding legal issues, etc. Indexes magazines, journals, reference books and videos.
Business Source Premier: full text articles for more than 2000 business journals, as well as market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- search on keywords: demographics and ____ (your topic)
- Look at different publication types especially the Industry Profiles & SWOT Analysis
- Company profiles tab at top of screen. Use this to view full Datamonitor reports, which include SWOT analysis, top competitors, revenue analysis, etc.
First Research: First Research delivers clear, consistent and timely Industry Intelligence via: over 500 Industry Profiles covering 1000 industry segments; dynamic fresh news & social content and daily alerts; quarterly Industry alerts to stay abreast of changes in the industries that are most important to you and state profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states.
Phoenix Business Journal's the Book of Lists: Used to locate top companies in specific industries locally. Also, use the “Phoenix Business Journal” to find regional business news. Latest copy located at CIRC/RESERVES and at the Career & College Resources Collection middle section.
referenceUSA: Provides access to company name and phone number, address, key executives, SIC codes, employee size, sales volume, business expenditures, jobs and more.