Use Business Databases to Obtain Info on Your Business
- A-Z Databases: Business / EconomicsFind the best business databases for your research.
- Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
- Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new windowIncludes industry statistical data, academic and industry journal articles, global market research reports, company and country overviews, more than 1000 case studies, charting tools for economic and business analysis, business rankings, and associated news reports.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and full-text articles from more than 2,200 business journals.
- First Research This link opens in a new windowFirst Research industry reports offer extensive industry research written from a objective business perspective to help you become a trusted industry advisor. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis on market and competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more. Many reports also include a global industry analysis.
- Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowConsumer reference books including publisher Nolo, full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.
- Phoenix Business Journal & Book of Lists This link opens in a new windowUse the print version of the “Phoenix Business Journal” to find regional business news. Use the latest print version of the Book of Lists (HF5068.P56 B66) to access important top lists in specific industries locally. The Book of Lists is located in the Career & College Resources collection in the library in the middle shelving.
- Reference Solutions (Data Axle) - Was ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new windowInformation available from this resource provides access to company name and phone number, address, key executives, SIC codes, employee size, sales volume, business expenditures, jobs and more.
- Small Business Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAn excellent resource for small business owners, access to legal forms, sample business plans, state specific demographic information, advice on managing employees, understanding legal issues, etc. Indexes magazines, journals, reference books and videos.
Business Research
Qualitative Research in Business by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781443866217Publication Date: 2014-11-01
How to Research Your Business Idea
Business Research Web Sites
• SBA - Small Business Administration
• The U.S. Census Bureau has the stats and demographics you need to know.
• FirstGov.gov is a well-designed, easy-to-navigate portal to the government online. Click on the tab that says "Businesses and Nonprofits."
• Your local Chamber of Commerce can be an indispensable resource for local information for your new business.
• The Encyclopedia of Associations by Gale Group can be found in libraries, and is an essential tool for locating your industry's associations. Also search on Google, and be sure to check whether the association has a trade publication.
• At TSNN.com , you can access a searchable database of trade shows worldwide.
• Entrepreneur's Top Colleges listing can help you find a local school that offers entrepreneurship studies.
• Two of the greatest resources known to entrepreneurs are the Small Business Development Centers (SBDCs) and SCORE (Service Corp of Retired Executives) . Each SBA service offers free and low-cost help to small-business owners and entrepreneurial wanna-bes, and should have a local office near you.
Videos on How to Use Claritas.com to obtain Zip-Code Market Segmentation Information
To learn more about the consumer lifestyles of people who live in your neighborhood watch the videos and go to Claritas.com ZIP Code Lookup and look up your business zip code to obtain market segmented information of the people living there.
- Segmentation Overview - PRIZM PremierPresentation on market segmentation using Claritas PRIZM Segmentation tool.
- Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions video (5:05)See how your business can use Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions to better understand, find, and engage with your consumers to improve marketing efficiencies, increase ROI, create more effective media plans and find opportunity in your marketplace.
- Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions video (formerly Nielsen) (2:46)Explanation of how to read a Market Potential report generated by Nielsen Segmentation and Market Solutions
Marketing Research Process
|
|
- Step 1: ProblemDefining the problem is the first step in marketing research, and the most critical.
- Step 2: Research DesignThe second step of marketing research, research design, should incorporate the scientific method, utilizing a systematic method to analyze evidence. But time, funds, and expertise often limit what an organization can do. In fact, if an organization limits itself to only the scientific method, it may not be taking full advantage of all its potentials.
- Step 3: SamplingThe third step of the research process is sampling. A sample is a subset of the population that you are interested in. So it's important to ensure that it is representative of the population. There is a variety of samples available to the researcher, such as random samples, stratified samples, and cluster samples, which help the researcher select a representative sample.
- Step 4: Data CollectionThe fourth step is data collection. There's a large number of data collection techniques available to the researcher. The most common include questionnaires, mall intercepts, interviews, both personal and telephone, and focus groups. The key to success is to select the most appropriate technique for the problem at hand.
- Step 5: Data AnalysisThere are two critical issues which influence the data analysis step. First, what analytical technique will provide the appropriate information. And second, what will the organization respond to most positively.
- Step 6: PresentationThe sixth step is presentation. A good rule to keep in mind for this step is, "Communicate to express, not impress."
- Step 7: Follow-UpThe researcher should establish a follow up procedure to evaluate the effectiveness of his or her recommendations. The control system must be determined before, and not after implementation.