ASK 24/7 LibChat - Welcome to LibChat!
Need Help! Please Contact Me!
OneSearch
To quickly and efficiently search the Library's databases, use the search bar below and filter your results to full text, journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles. Search for articles, books, movies, and more that are available through OneSearch.
Advanced Search | Journal Finder | Topic Finder| Find in My Library |
Business Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Arizona Republic (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Business Plans Handbook (Gale EBooks) This link opens in a new window
- Data Axle Reference Solutions - (Was ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
- Financial Times, The This link opens in a new window
- First Research (Mergent, Inc.) This link opens in a new window
- Business (Gale EBooks) This link opens in a new window
- Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press) This link opens in a new window
- Mergent Intellect (Mergent, Inc) This link opens in a new window
- New York Times (1980-current) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- New York Times Online (NYtimes.com) - FREE! This link opens in a new window
- ReferenceUSA - (Now Data Axle Reference Solutions) This link opens in a new window
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Small Business Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal, The (Eastern Edition) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- WESTLAW (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Business Plans Samples
Business Plans Handbook located in GALE EBOOKS
Actual business plans compiled by and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure, and compose business plans. (Click on the book cover!)
Web Sites with Business Plans
-
Write your Business Plan - Your business plan is the foundation of your business. Learn how to write a business plan quickly and efficiently with a business plan template.
-
Bplans.com - This site contains sample business and marketing plans as well as articles related to starting a business. Contains ads.
NAICS - Use to determine type of industry your business is related to.
- .North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- NAICS & SIC Identification ToolsUse this to find codes and tables on your industry.
- NAICS Codes for IndustriesA NAICS industry code is part of the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), which is used to classify business establishments based on their economic activities. Use this guide to find your industry.
- NAICS Lookup Help!- Determining the Appropriate Code for Your Business:To identify the NAICS Code being used for a specific company, visit the US Company Lookup Tool by NAICS.com. To identify the proper code for your company, use the NAICS Search Tools to identify the code that best reflects your primary business activity (revenue-producing activity.)
Market Research Reports from Business Source Premier database
Locate Demographic/Psychographic Information on you Customer
Find out who lives in your target area:
- American Community Survey (ACS)The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
- American Community Survey - Data ProfilesData Profiles have the most frequently requested social, economic, housing, and demographic data. Each of these four subject areas is a separate data profile. The data profiles summarize the data for a single geographic area, both numbers, and percent, to cover the most basic data on all topics.
- Arizona Economic IndicatorsTrack Major Economic Indicators for Arizona.
Average Hourly Earnings | Bankruptcy | Copper Production + Prices | Employment | Exchange Rates | Housing | Inflation + Prices | Labor Force | Personal Income – Annual | Personal Income – Quarterly | Real GDP | Real Per Capita GDP | Population + Vital Statistics | Taxable Sales | Tourism + Travel | Unemployment | Wages, Hours + Earnings - Business and Economy - U.S. Census BureauThe Census Bureau produces economic data across the entire economy on a monthly, quarterly, yearly, and five-year basis.
- Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition - 3.4The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format. - Small Business Edition is primarily for small business owners who need key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market. It presents data for a single type of business or a single industry cluster at a time.
- Doing Industry Research: A Resource Guide - Census BureauThe Census Bureau is the U.S. government agency collecting and publishing some of the largest business-oriented data. In addition, it also partners with and disseminates data from other agencies. Below are some of the major business-related series issued by this agency.
- Reference Solutions-Data Axle - (was Reference USA)ReferenceUSA is a robust database that offers something for everyone. Small businesses and entrepreneurs can create informed business plans with ReferenceUSA by using its sophisticated “mapping feature” to target the location and proximity of competitors. ReferenceUSA even allows you to search and target businesses' like gender, ethnicity, and consumer lifestyles information. Important to watch this video on how best to use the ReferenceUSA Consumers / Lifestyles database. - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXQ1WmHvOno
- How to use Reference USA - U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles Database VideoThe U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database is ideal for researching consumer demographics and identifying the target market for a product or service. This tutorial will cover the basics of using the U.S. Consumers and Lifestyles database.
Market Segmentation - Use to locate consumer/lifestyle info
Market Segmentation: Is the process of subdividing a market into distinct groups of customers with similar needs, such as:
- Geographically
- Demographically
- According to age, race, gender, education, religion
- Psychographically (according to interests, attitudes, opinions and needs)
- Behavioristically (according to usage patterns, history, responsiveness or loyalty)
Using Claritas.com to obtain Zip-Code Market Segmentation Information: Claritas.com provides demographic and consumer segmentation profiling data taken from the U.S. Census - to learn more about the consumer lifestyles of people who live in your neighborhood, click on the following links:
- Claritas Zip Code Lookup
Enter your zip code area where you are setting up your business or to target an area you wish to sell. Enter the ZIP CODE to learn about the demographics and lifestyles of consumer segments in your neighborhood. - Claritas - Segment Details - 68 consumer type segments about who your consumer is about. Check it out
Business Videos
This program spotlights two very different small-business owners—a physical therapist and a performance artist—who have something very important in common: a business plan.
The StartUp Experience (25-part series, 53–87 minutes each)
Covers financial advisory, garden center, bookstore, wine shop, land appraisal, pet day care and training, franchise, residential real estate, insurance agency, home building, home health care, salon, wind energy, cosmetics, produce farm, internet marketing, bed and breakfast, consulting and training, commercial real estates self-storage, restaurant, buying and managing rental properties, catering, selling products online businesses.
Evaluating Business Performance: Small Business Case Studies ( 31:27)
How do company owners and managers measure the health and viability of their businesses? This program addresses that question, illustrating processes by which an entrepreneur can evaluate the performance of his or her enterprise and make decisions that will improve its future performance.
Formulating a Business Plan: (30:00)
A good business plan is a roadmap to success. The three modules of this program look at the process of creating a business plan from three different perspectives: the transformation of an idea into a marketable product, the determination of financial feasibility, and negotiation with potential investors.
Business Help Links
-
US Small Business Administration
Start-up FAQs, kits, information on government loans, and locations of local SBA centers.
-
Entrepreneur.com Starting a Business
Current, helpful info from Entrepreneur magazine, including how to write a business plan, obtain financing, etc.
-
SCORE: Small Business Mentoring and Training
Business advise from the Service Corps of Retired Executives. Includes online workshops and seminars, as well as a zip-code locator for a mentor in your area.
-
Startup Nation: Source for Small Business Advice
A great resource for entrepreneurs, includes community space, articles, podcasts, online seminars and other information on all things small business.