Where does Reference Solutions U.S. Businesses database get's its business information from?
Our business databases are the most detailed and accurate databases available today. Everyday new businesses open, existing businesses change locations and eventually some businesses close-‐ because of this the database must be continually maintained to keep the information up-‐to-‐date and accurate. Information in the databases is compiled in two phases.
First we aggregate 4,000+ telephone directories and over 250 new business sources such as secretaries of state, county courthouses and public record notices. Through these sources and additional process, we can typically gather base level information.
Second, our verification team calls each business to verify the information and to obtain any additional information. Our business databases have been developed as information databases and are not derivative of another product or application. As a result, the coverage of the business databases is intended to represent all active business sites.
Quick Facts on Data Information Gathered
• 183 million US Business records from 2003 to present
• 43 million active US businesses
o 16 million telephone verified
o 27 million pre-‐verified
• 1.9 million Canadian Businesses
• Compiled from 4,000+ telephone directories and thousands of other sources
• Most Accurate and up-‐to-‐date in the industry
• Telephone verified
• 35 million telephone calls placed in 2015
• Files are updated on the 1st and 3rd Friday of each month
• Out of business records removed daily
• Quality is assured throughout compilation, verification and update processes